+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 40 of 40
  1. #31
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,454

    Default

    Well how good are you at delving into the inner workings of the Windows Registry? Do you think you could find and delete all the necessary entries pertinent to Revit? Do we have any idea what else Revit gets its hooks into? You would have to literally do a "hunt and destroy". That could take a fair amount of time then you would have to ask yourself "How sure am I that I got everything?"
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  2. #32
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    432

    Default

    I've followed this thread. After hearing that the OP delved into the Registry and deleted files...reformat it.

    I like to think of myself as pretty techy, but even I don't screw with the Registry without first creating a backup on a thumb drive. Also, as ReMark said, always make a System Restore Point before installing software.

    Reformat the computer. Yeah, you'll have downtime while backing up files and doing the reformat, but it will save you a lot of "hunt and destroy" headache.

    There's no reason your computer shouldn't run Revit Arch 2012, my Dell XPS M1330 runs it just fine (wish I had a better GPU, though). I think you missed something in the install, then botched the uninstall. It takes a while; it may look like it's doing nothing, but just let it sit.
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  3. #33
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,043

    Default

    At the risk of sounding like a total *&%^$, as I read the OP the guy said the file he had was a .rar file. This is not the way AutoDesk distributes it's products, either by download or by purchase of direct media.

    On the other hand, many bit torrent and pirate sites store iillegal copies of software in rar files. The other thing these files contain are viruses, trojan horses and all kinds of spyware. I'm kind of surprised no one mentioned this in the thread.

    I'm also still amazed at how many people think you cannot run 32 bit software on a 64 bit OS. You can run 32 bit software on a 64 bit OS. Notice I say OS, because until only recently, many vendors sold 64 bit machines with 32 bit OS on them.

    There's all kinds of things that could be wrong with this guy's setup and the first thing I would suspect is that the rar file he started with was not a pure AutoDesk copy and there is no telling what it comtains.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  4. #34
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    At the risk of sounding like a total *&%^$
    As soon as you say that, it's too late.

    I'd like to add one thing to what you say about running 32 bit software. That is that not all software designed to run on a 32 bit OS will run on a 64 bit OS.
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

  5. #35
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,454

    Default

    "That is that not all software designed to run on a 32 bit OS will run on a 64 bit OS."

    Is it because some 32-bit software also contains 16-bit code?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #36
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    "That is that not all software designed to run on a 32 bit OS will run on a 64 bit OS."

    Is it because some 32-bit software also contains 16-bit code?
    I don't know why. I just know from personal experience and Microsoft.com also says that "most", not all, software designed for 32 bit OS will run on a 64 bit OS.
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

  7. #37
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    the guy said the file he had was a .rar file. This is not the way AutoDesk distributes it's products, either by download or by purchase of direct media.
    I completely missed that part.

    Hacker.

    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  8. #38
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,454

    Default

    Hacker? The OP has a chronic lung disease too? I feel bad for the poor guy.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  9. #39
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Hacker? The OP has a chronic lung disease too? I feel bad for the poor guy.
    I dunno about him, but I have pneumonia, again.

    *hack*
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  10. #40
    Junior Member
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Roy View Post
    I completely missed that part.

    Hacker.

    http://usa.autodesk.com/revit-architecture/

    Download the file. I downloaded the free software for students.

    But the file is the same either in the free trial option or in the students' software.

    You will see that it actually is a .rar file.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 64 bits vs 32 bits
    By CNatka in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2011, 01:24 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2011, 04:20 am
  3. 2012: Where to find your Autodesk Revit 2012 Product key
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2011, 11:20 pm
  4. Save a Revit file to a previous version
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2010, 07:10 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts