+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Configuring features

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was wondering if there was a way to have two different configurations, where they both have the same boss/extrude, but in one you set it to merge & the other to not merge??

  2. #2
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Im not sure if there is a way to control that dialog box off hand, but you can do it as a separate feature and simply suppress it. Deselect "merge results" in the extrude operation, then use the "combine" feature. This will keep it external to the extrude and allow easier control over it.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks11,SolidCam11
    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/
    www.mysolidbox.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member bhamze's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    162

    Default

    I thought this was interesting so I gave it a try. Model any feature then create another merging the results (1 solid body). Create a new config. Edit second feature and uncheck merge results then specify this configuration under the configuration tab. After you accept the changes you will notice 2 solid bodies in the feature tree. When you select the original config you will have 1 solid body. Hope this helps.
    Certified SolidWorks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool, Weldments, Drawing Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist

    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/

  4. #4
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Great tip Bill!
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks11,SolidCam11
    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/
    www.mysolidbox.com

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Thanks for the reply
    Sorry, im not sure i follow though.
    Are you saying you create 2 seperate, but identical features, however, in one you select "merge result" & dont in the other.
    Then you just create 2 configurations and suppress one of the two in each?
    This does work in essence but it also raises the issue of later features and the parent/child relationship in some cases.

    Thanks again for the help.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    No browny he was saying after you have created your feature, make a new configuration then edit that feature. In the new config you can have it "un merged", while the original configuration it will stay merged.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks11,SolidCam11
    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/
    www.mysolidbox.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member bhamze's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This may give you a better understanding.

    Certified SolidWorks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool, Weldments, Drawing Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist

    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/

Similar Threads

  1. Configuring user settings for new release
    By blatz.boy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2008, 06:29 pm
  2. Configuring compatible version of .NET Framework
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2006, 07:00 pm
  3. Configuring a local patch list server
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2006, 04:30 pm
  4. Configuring Blocks
    By cat5mangler in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2005, 07:28 pm
  5. Configuring accelerator keys?
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th Dec 2002, 07:43 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts