+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question Working with mm - Problems with scale in paper space (layouts)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone!

    I'm working on a project where all of my dimensions are in mm. I drew everything in model space in full scale. I, then, went over to layouts and tried to determine what scale to use to dimension everything. My biggest dimension is 167 mm. I expected to be able to use 1:1 or 1:2, but those scales are too zoomed in. The scale that seems to work is 1:25. Why is that, and is there a way I can fix it?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,973

    Default

    You have set the paper size in Page Setup? You should chouse there the paper that you intend to print on (presume A3 or A4 since you draw in mm).

    Regards,
    Mircea

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes Construction, Residential & commercial Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    3,185

    Default

    Make sure your paperspace units are not inches. 1:25 is the approximate conversion ratio for inches to mm.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,978

    Default

    Depends on the size of the paper in paper space. Did you use a border with metric or imperial dimensions? Same for the viewport?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I checked paper size in page setup. It's set to 8 1/2 by 11 inches, which is right.

    How can I check paperspace units and dimensions of the border and viewport?

    Thank you!

  6. #6
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,973

    Default

    So, the size of your page is now 8.5 x 11 units - for this reason you cannot use 1:1 scale. You will need to choose a metric size: A4 (297 x 210 units) or A3 (420 x 297 units). Then your 1:1 drawing of 167 units will fit well.

    Regards,
    Mircea

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,201

    Default

    What DWT (template file) did you start with? Was it acad.dwt, acadiso.dwt or a different one? You may have mixed apples (imperial) with oranges (metric).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes Construction, Residential & commercial Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    3,185

    Default

    OK, so according to the OP, 1:25 scale fits well. Model units are mm. I bet paper units are inches. By the way 167 mm (6.57 inches), the OP's longest (apparently overall) dimension fits pretty much anywhere on an 8 1/2 x 11 paper at full size.

    jhwang39, on your layout dialog you will see the Plot Scale area, of course.

    Make sure there is a 1 in the input field next to the dropdown button. That is your paperspace unit. Click the arrow and change it to mm instead of inches. Below that, make sure there is a 1 in that unit input field as well. That is your modelspace unit. Now the combination will say that 1 mm = 1 unit. ( one model unit = 1 paper unit ). Before changing this, with your paper units set to inches, 1 mm = 1" is what you were trying to use for a scale. That's why 1:25 worked a lot better. 1" = pretty much 25.4mm.

    Now select 1:1 as your plot scale. It might have changed itself to "Custom" while you were fixing your units ratio.

    You will see your paper size change to 216 x 279 up there in the preview tile too. At least mine does.

    For What to Plot, select Layout. Good to go? Let us know.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes Construction, Residential & commercial Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    3,185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jhwang39 View Post
    I checked paper size in page setup. It's set to 8 1/2 by 11 inches, which is right.

    How can I check paperspace units and dimensions of the border and viewport?

    Thank you!
    Click the layout tab, right click anywhere in paperspace or select page setup manager off a menu if one pops up. I think you have to right click the layout tab again to get the paperspace menu to come up instead of going right to the page setup manager. Anyhow, once you are there, see my prior post.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  10. #10
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    5,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    In your layout the first thing you should have done is draw a title block even if its just an outline this title block should be at true size in your case 8 1/2x11 would be
    215.9-12 x 267.4-12 203x267 the slight decrease is that your printer can not plot to the edeg so I have allowed 6mm most laser printers use about 5mm for the edge. once you have this box create a MVIEW window then zoom E if you have the Viewports toolbar open you will see a number appear this is the fit scale this is a ratio of 1m = 1000mm v's what fits enter a new number, say 22.3 then it would become 25 exactly this is a true scale 1000/25 otherwise use the predefined scales.

    You then plot the layout at 1:1 and it should work perfect
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with working model space v.s. paper space
    By Limoges_Designer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Sep 2012, 02:00 pm
  2. Linetype scale from Model space to Paper Space
    By sam_dubya in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2012, 04:26 am
  3. LTSCALE - Model Space/Paper Space Differences and problems
    By Fedge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2011, 02:33 pm
  4. Multiple Paper Space Layouts for Drawing With Different Layers On
    By cegrad in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2010, 07:27 pm
  5. freezing new layers in paper space layouts
    By the ber in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Dec 2006, 04:27 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts