+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Full Member jamami's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    jamami's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    For mitered joints you'd have to thicken the inside surface toward the outside, as described above by SEANT, but then also thicken the outside surface inward. The "interference" would be the end product.
    nestly, thanks for this help. I have tried above but got some weird results, small 'blips' left over following deletion of the interference solid - any ideas?

    Cope_60_inandout.dwg

  2. #12
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    The "interference" is the part you want to keep. Make sure you uncheck the box that says "Delete interference objects...." before you close the Interfere dialog box.

    Here's a video of the process I used. http://www.screencast.com/t/GEoef7FQCXo

  3. #13
    Full Member jamami's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    jamami's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    57

    Default

    nestly
    thats really useful, many thanks.
    I have visited the laser cutting company I will be using. Their machine has a vertical laser and the tube is fed in at horizontally at 90 degrees symmetrically about its centre line. The mitre shapes are then made (very quickly) by rotating the tube and moving it backward and forwards while it rotates. It is all vey impressive, but I realise that the cuts will always be at 90deg to the material surface. Will the interference method kindly provided above be acheivable using this laser technology? ie does the interference create a non 90deg edge?

  4. #14
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    Yes, using the thicken method, the cuts are perpendicular to the bore, including the "interference"

    http://youtu.be/0u_JcQyvFjY
    http://youtu.be/FYLhQ2XWfX8

  5. #15
    Full Member jamami's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    jamami's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    Yes, using the thicken method, the cuts are perpendicular to the bore, including the "interference"

    http://youtu.be/0u_JcQyvFjY
    http://youtu.be/FYLhQ2XWfX8
    Many thanks for all your help with this. I need to change a whole bunch of drawings now that have been prepared 'the old way'. I also need to work out how best to dimension these sub assemblies so that they can be fabricated correctly.

  6. #16
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    Just a note... although the video shows copying the part, exploding then thickening the surfaces separately, that's really an unnecessary step, you can do them in-place.

    With regards to dimensioning, I still find it more efficient to create 2D views of the 3D parts, and dimension those. and my personal preference is still FLATSHOT.
    Here is a good tutorial that covers all the methods for making the 2D views. If you don't already have an account at Autodesk University, just sign up... its free.

    Producing 2D documentation from 3D models in AutoCAD

  7. #17
    Full Member jamami's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    jamami's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I have always used solview/draw etc to create a 2d view to annotate. These drawings go into the ManufactureDrawings folder, while the 3d models sit elsewhere. This has always bugged me (and has caused a few issues)as changes to either drawing are not reflected in each other.
    For this reason i have been investigating dimensioning in 3D. I also want to undertand more about how to tolerance objects correctly for manufacture, maybe the AU will be good for this? I do not have an account at present.

  8. #18
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,136

    Default

    my personal preference is still FLATSHOT.

    I've seen some pretty unacceptable images generated by both the flatten and the flatshot commands, complex 3D curves are less than reliable.
    I suspect that anyone doing 2D drawings of 3D Models who is using Autocad 2012 will QUICKLY come to appreciate the VIEWBASE functionality. Just remember that when sharing with an earlier version of Autocad, DWG True View 2012 (free download from Autodesk) will be required to read the drawings. The time you save will be your own.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  9. #19
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamami View Post
    I have always used solview/draw etc to create a 2d view to annotate. These drawings go into the ManufactureDrawings folder, while the 3d models sit elsewhere. This has always bugged me (and has caused a few issues)as changes to either drawing are not reflected in each other.
    For this reason i have been investigating dimensioning in 3D. I also want to undertand more about how to tolerance objects correctly for manufacture, maybe the AU will be good for this? I do not have an account at present.
    VIEWBASE drawings are associative and thus clearly indicate when there is a dissimilarity between the 3D Model in modelspace and the drawings in paperspace, and can be updated with a single command. It is way better than the SOLDRAW & SOLVIEW commands, and much quicker.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #20
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by jamami View Post
    I have always used solview/draw etc to create a 2d view to annotate. These drawings go into the ManufactureDrawings folder, while the 3d models sit elsewhere. This has always bugged me (and has caused a few issues)as changes to either drawing are not reflected in each other.
    For this reason i have been investigating dimensioning in 3D. I also want to undertand more about how to tolerance objects correctly for manufacture, maybe the AU will be good for this? I do not have an account at present.
    If your already on AutoCad 2012 why aren't you taking advantage of the New Drawing Views... This has been in Inventor for many years and finally ported to AutoCAD. It really makes it simple to dimension your 3D objects and creates the views and viewports for you. These are also Dynamic and update as your model changes. I will be on AutoCAD 2012 soon and have been waiting for this change for a long time...

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



Similar Threads

  1. Tube Miter Script
    By TenSecond408 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2012, 11:07 am
  2. Need Help creating a tube with a 45 degree angle in autocad
    By karolbyrne in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2012, 02:48 am
  3. Creating Dynamic blocks correctly
    By Spinxy in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 6th May 2011, 12:55 pm
  4. "LOFT" feature does not seems creating correctly!!!
    By CAnnondale in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2010, 01:16 am
  5. Compound Miter in 3D
    By Bill Tillman in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2009, 09:56 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts