residential: do you draw 4" or 3 1/2" stud walls?

slipperypete

Which do you draw and why?

I have been drawing residential plans for about a year. I have always drawn my stud walls at 3.5" inches. I am a self-taught acad lt user, and I am starting to play with dynamic blocks which appear will make my life much simpler. The built-in blocks seem to favor 4" walls. As a former builder, the architect that I used to hire drew his walls 3.5", 5.5", etc. While I have seen draftsman use 4" & 6" walls all the time I guess I am wondering what the advantages are to either. To me, precision is important which is why I have always favored the 3.5" wall. However, if there is a convincing reason for me to draw 4&6" then I am open to the change.

Also... do you draw dimensions 'stud face to stud face' or do you mark the center of the (interior) wall?

thanks!

Edited by slipperypete
added (interior) to last sentence.

I draw mine to the dimensional lumber size. My studs are located center-to-center.

Disclaimer: I am not an architect but I once played one in a school play. The guy's name was Frank Lloyd Wright.:lol:

It is interesting to hear an architectural discussion regarding precision! Most architects I have worked with are form over function. *spoken with tongue in cheek*

My engineering side wants accuracy and precision. I fear that the 4" and 6" have devolved from the misunderstanding that a 2x4 is not 2-inches by 4-inches in actual measurement.

I have heard it argued that by drawing the walls 4" and 6" thick, they are accounting for the drywall/sheeting...whatever, it's still not "accurate".

So, I guess there is no RIGHT answer. I tend to agree with you that 3.5 and 5.5 are more accurate.

I also locate studs to the o.c.

Disclaimer: I am an engineer...although I have seen some of FLW's work! (Some of it looks kinda goofy and wasting space...but, hey, that's just me and my opinion!)