+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Crump's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD technician
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    4

    Default CADTutor.net is a great forum

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have been a CAD tech working with MicroStation for over twenty years. I've never before worked with AutoCAD. After all these years my employer is now changing to AutoCAD. I am scheduled to go through some formal AutoCAD training in a few months. In the meantime, to help prepare myself, I have been tinkering with the AutoCAD software on a shared work station and I've been looking at training materials available on the internet. I ran across this forum and I am very impressed. It is very good of you to set up a site where people can get help with their AutoCAD problems. I have not actually begun working with AutoCAD so I do not have any questions yet but I'm sure I will soon enough. Thanks for providing the forum—I think it's great.

  2. #2
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    welcome to CADtutor
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,884

    Default

    Welcome to the CADTutor forum Crump. I'm sure the brains behind this whole idea, David Watson, would be pleased to read your comments.

    Environmental? I worked in that field for several years too. The firm I worked for, Consulting Environmental Engineers, did mostly wastewater treatment systems for both civil and municipal clients. And your firm?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default

    It's good to see someone coming to the light (from MicroStation to AutoCAD)! j/k

    Welcome to the forum! Post any questions you have. Having worked with both (MS and AutoCAD), I can understand some of the upcoming frustration. I prefer AutoCAD, BTW...but I was 'raised' on AutoCAD. There are a lot of similarities, but to avoid copyright (or some other legal mumbo-jumbo), often you will find slightly different terminology (levels vs. layers being the first to come to mind) to accomplish the same thing.

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Crump's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD technician
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Environmental? I worked in that field for several years too. The firm I worked for, Consulting Environmental Engineers, did mostly wastewater treatment systems for both civil and municipal clients. And your firm?
    Gresham Smith and Partners, it is an architecture and engineering firm. I am in the environmental department.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,884

    Default

    Are you involved in any Superfund site cleanups?

    Most of our environmental work dealt with putting in monitoring wells for clients that had on-site contamination of groundwater. We also helped out a number of firms who had old sludge lagoons they were trying to close so they could reclaim the use of the land.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Crump's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD technician
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Are you involved in any Superfund site cleanups?
    No, at least not recently. The firm does environmental compliance work and I have in the past worked on those type projects from time to time; however, I work primarily with municipal water and sewer systems.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,196

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Crump's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD technician
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Welcome to the forum.
    Thanks Dadgad, and everyone else for welcoming me to the forum.*

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    This forum looks really great. I would give another feedback in a week. Just joined yesterday.

    BTW, there is a problem.

    When I'm trying to post or reply, I get a message saying "You are not logged in" frequently.

    At first I thought, its because using Chrome in incognito mode. Then I switched to the regular mode, but the problem persists. Is it a problem with the site or my browser?

Similar Threads

  1. Great Forum
    By Andy44 in forum Feedback
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2007, 11:12 pm
  2. Great Forum!
    By good_m in forum Feedback
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2006, 02:52 pm
  3. RSS of CADTutor Forum
    By PepaR in forum Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2006, 10:30 am
  4. great work, CADTutor!
    By fuccaro in forum Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st May 2004, 11:21 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts