+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,372

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No I do not. My title block and border are already part of my template. I have five layout tabs corresponding to the five sizes (actually four sizes and two orientations) of paper we use: 24x36, 18x24, 11x17, 8.5x11 (landscape) and 8.5x11 (portrait).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Mark I really hate to keep bugging you. I have been working with autocad for the last seven years, and I feel I am asking some really noobie questions. I get how to use templates for starting a new drawing. When I design a tool I model up my assembly and then wblock out my individual details. What would be the best way to add my several layers and dimension style into the drawing I just wblocked? Or for instance I purge a drawing and I need to add back in my layer etc? I have only worked for one company. I would like to know how some other companies handle these issues.

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mshearer's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 2010
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Where to dimension/label is an ongoing discussion in my office and has been for as long as I can remember. Once you've created the various dimstyles you need, is there any extra work involved with keeping everything in model space or the original xref?
    My hesitation to dimensioning in paper space has always been the time involved if you need to shift a viewport or edit the scale (which I bet annotative dimensions/text covers but that's a topic for another day).
    Is this the case? Are my fears completely unfounded?

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,372

    Default

    I do all my dimensioning and text in my paper space layout and can't say that I have encountered any extra work.

    One plus to doing it this way is I never have to deal with 1) scalelists and scalelist bloat, 2) I don't have to also worry about all the system variables associated with annotative scaling in general and 3) I only use about three different text heights max.

    I think you should try both methods and decide for yourself which works best for your particular situation.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mshearer's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 2010
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    49

    Default

    I thought with 2011 or 2012 Autocad automatically detected unused scale lists and prompted you to purge/delete....? We created a lisp routine to deleted unused ones back on 2008 prior to Autocad cleaning up their own mess so it hasn't been an issue for some time.
    I'm a proponent of model space, but the guy with the big red pen in our office (who hasn't used the computer to draft in 5+ years) wants it to remain as is.
    Not the end of the world, I was just looking for that magic bullet for my argument.
    Much appreciated.

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,372

    Default

    Since I do not use annotative scaling on a regular basis I cannot answer your question re: auto-purging of scalelists. I'd have to do some research. There are plenty of forum members who do use annotative scaling so perhaps one of them can enlighten us both.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by swats View Post
    I have a related question. I always dimension in paper space. I use solview/soldraw to create my orthographic views. There scale is always 1:1. Then I scale up/down my title blocks to fit, after they are inserted as a block. My question is, how do you handle the overall scale of the dimensions? I use multiple dimension styles for fractional, two place, and three place dimensions. Would I still have to go into the dimension styles and change the overall dimension scale?
    You should keep your title block the same size, don't use the SCALE command to change them.
    Then change the viewport scale for your soldraw viewports so they fit in the title block. The objects for the various views will still be 1:1 in MS. Then you apply the dimensions, no scaling in the dim styles. I have quite a few different dim styles for various tolerances, number of decimal places, etc, but they are all set with out a dimscale factor.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  8. #18
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I spent some time last night looking at my issue. The lisp program I mentioned in my first post uses a few text files for bring in all the line types and dimension styles. I created a couple of new text files uses one of our existing files. I works pretty well other then it does not bring in the metric scale line types regardless if I use the acad or acadiso templates to start the drawing. I wonder if I could post a file here if someone (who is smarter then I am) would like to take a look at it.

Similar Threads

  1. Dimension Styles
    By rwhitt0724 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2009, 07:32 pm
  2. VBA - Dimension Styles
    By wannabe in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2008, 06:18 pm
  3. Dimension Styles
    By rush02112 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2007, 10:25 pm
  4. Dimension Styles
    By JaketheMan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th May 2007, 11:43 pm
  5. Paperspace viewports 2 types of hidden lines question..
    By pete in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2006, 04:19 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts