+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Obtain elevation values to 3D polyline from shape file

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Greetings everyone,

    i have had great feedback so far, so that is why i have returned with yet another beginners question.
    I remember from civil 3d times, that it was easy to obtain height values to polyline. If i remember correctly, what i did was i drew a polyline in plan view over tin surface. From there on it was easy to obtain the values of the heights to polyline from points, where it crossed tin file surface lines. Is such similar thing possible in map3D in a situation where i have shape file as a surface with elevation values?
    I guess it must work somehow from query option, but i havent either found the right solution from internet nor by myself.
    Lots of thanks in advance(y).

  2. #2
    Senior Member Emigrato's Avatar
    Discipline
    See details...
    Emigrato's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Cisco CCNA
    Using
    Map 3D 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by username85 View Post
    i have shape file as a surface with elevation values
    Please elaborate that point, or upload here the shapefile, thanx.


  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Unfortunately i cannot share the shape file due to confidentiality of the information. The file itself is usual .shp file extension, which includes file extensions such as .shx, .dbf, .idx, .prj., .sbn and .sbx.
    When shp connection is generated, map feature isolines are generated with 1m distribution.

  4. #4
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    804

    Default

    Map3D does not create "breaklines" like Civl3D does. The best you will be able to do is draw 3d plines and snap to nearest of the contour lines once you set them to their respective elevations.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Emigrato's Avatar
    Discipline
    See details...
    Emigrato's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Cisco CCNA
    Using
    Map 3D 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by username85 View Post
    Unfortunately i cannot share the shape file due to confidentiality of the information
    Feel free to upload ONLY the geometrical .SHP file, without any 'confidential' attributes of the .DBF one.

    Let me understand: do you wanna drap a 2D poly on a 3D surface, then extract the resulting 3Dpoly..?


  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is this really the only option? I was considering it, but it is large area, plus the fact that it is not only about the boundary but also about the whole area, which should correspond to the topography?
    Could somebody possibly help me with the issue of where i have the very same shape file as mentioned above. And i need to project a certain mountain with specific slope grades on top of it. As i also need to get the volume of the projected mountain, i can not use mesh in that case and i guess solid is the best option? What would be the best possible solution for such task?
    Ideally if i had civil 3D to use, i would create a tin surface, create another surface higher above and project mountain with specific slope grades onto the lower surface. From there on i could easily calculate the volume between two surfaces, but unfortunately i dont have access to civil3D at this moment.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD Map 3D Polyline on Shape file issue
    By mark3h in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2011, 08:03 pm
  2. Polyline Vertex - Changing Elevation
    By donaldo in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2011, 07:52 am
  3. elevation values
    By michaeloureiro in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Sep 2009, 12:36 pm
  4. Polyline elevation and LISP...
    By ramis in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th Jun 2007, 02:07 pm
  5. Transpose depth (z values) onto 2d polyline
    By waltpeat in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2006, 09:28 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts