Need help to start Piping

hoss

Hi,

I am a total newbie in MEP, first time, I have been asked (pushed into) using it.

I will be piping a boiler house with three big boilers (lots of pipes)

There will be steel flanged pipe, steel welded pipes and also other types.

I am very confused with the whole thing.

I have created some simple 3d drawings of the boilers, which I will be inserting them into MEP, is this correct? or do I need to convert them to parts?

How do you set Preferences for different pipe types.

I have ordered "The Aubin Academy Master Series: AutoCAD MEP 2012" book,

But I need to start this project straight away.

I would appreciate if someone could give simple instructions, on what needs to be done prior to start piping.

Thanks

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• tzframpton

• hoss

• dumfatnhappy

• jmerch

First thing you need to understand is that you do not need to convert 3D models to MvParts. I usually create normal 3D parts with standard AutoCAD Solids to make the equipment for BIM projects. It's just unnecessary extra steps to convert things to MvParts (sometimes, not all the time). So just using standard AutoCAD 3D Solids is perfectly fine.

Now before you even do that, you'll want to use the "Aecb Model (US Imperial CTB)" Template File. Or, use Metric if this is your standard units requirements. The thing about this template, is that is already has all the catalog of piping components and piping systems already developed. You just have to "draw" and not have to set up any Layer Key Styles, Display Representations, Catalog of Parts/Pipes/Fittings/etc, and anything else.