+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    274

    Default Fields in attribute.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi, I would like to know if someone knows a short cut to update the fields in the attribute without double clicking on the blockattribute to change the.

    I'm looking for something to write in the command line.

    Thanks in advance !

    Cheers & Beers

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,507

    Default

    it depends how the field is linked. If it is an information link (file name etc.) a simple regen will update it. If it is a link to another block I don't think it can be done in any other way than you are already doing.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    274

    Default

    It's simply the date.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,190

    Default

    You can insert a field which is specified as the PLOT DATE, and when you print it, the field will be automatically populated triggered by the print command. Other dates can be configured to work in much the same way.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    274

    Default

    I tried that it does not work. But the field is in a block as an attribute.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,507

    Default

    a date field should update on a regen

    DateField.jpg
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,190

    Default

    Yes it will work, but you need to replace the existing text in the block. Double click on the text (not the block) then use your right click menu to insert field, then you can configure it as you wish.

    A create, save or plot date will be triggered without the need for the updatefield command, pursuant to your fieldeval settings.
    Typically REGEN will update fields, but I believe that is not the case with the DATE field.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,507

    Default

    can you post the block
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    274

    Default

    sure i can here it is

    block att.dwg

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,190

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Here you go automatic save date.
    Every time you SAVE the field is updated, just check the time stamp.
    There are lots of situations where folks don't want a date field to update automatically.
    Creation, Save and Plot are dates which are more likely to be used as self updated, with a certain amount of impunity.
    Attached Files
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Attribute Fields
    By Jabaker in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th May 2011, 04:49 pm
  2. annotative attribute fields in block plot as ######
    By lode in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2010, 08:03 am
  3. [FIELDS] Copy value of attribute text.
    By OMEGA-ThundeR in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2009, 07:30 am
  4. Attribute fields
    By mattwsp in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2006, 05:52 pm
  5. Attribute extraction and Fields question
    By MRSWOLF in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2005, 05:39 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts