+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Kaars's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Kaars's Computer Details
    RAM:
    24.0 gb
    Monitor:
    15" Dell and 60" Sharp
    Discipline
    Transport
    Kaars's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Transport
    Details
    Design Draftmen
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    6

    Default How to remove inner solid part from other solid part

    I have to solids. They are intersecting each other, I want to remove one solid which is inside. Does any body knows how to do it? It's a Civil 3D 2012 QUESTION.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Greendamo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP
    RAM:
    4gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quatro FX 1800
    Primary Storage:
    1Tb
    Monitor:
    24" Samsung
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Greendamo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Engineer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England, Solihull
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Hi Kaars,

    U will need to put it in to wireframe so you can see the internal 3D solid, then subtract it from the external solid using boolean subtraction.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie Kaars's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Kaars's Computer Details
    RAM:
    24.0 gb
    Monitor:
    15" Dell and 60" Sharp
    Discipline
    Transport
    Kaars's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Transport
    Details
    Design Draftmen
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Greendamo,

    Thanks, Let me try this.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default

    You want to use the SU command (subtraction) when dealing with solids...however, be aware that the command will delete the solid that is being subtracted...so, if you need that element elsewhere, copy it to a different layer that is off/frozen prior to subtraction action.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie Kaars's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Kaars's Computer Details
    RAM:
    24.0 gb
    Monitor:
    15" Dell and 60" Sharp
    Discipline
    Transport
    Kaars's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Transport
    Details
    Design Draftmen
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks Bill_Borec,

    It work's

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Glad to help!

Similar Threads

  1. have an Assemble part in part list - Publisher
    By alijahed in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2011, 08:38 am
  2. AutoCAD: Best practice: fill hole in solid, remove region from solid
    By MichaelBrenden in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2010, 08:31 pm
  3. MEP 2011 - How can I remove leader from part numbering tag?
    By Not An Egg Head in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Nov 2010, 07:55 pm
  4. Remove Solid History from All Blocks
    By Delphi1 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2009, 12:18 am
  5. remove extrude on 3d solid
    By cldryden in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Oct 2008, 08:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts