+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Solid Surfaces

  1. #1
    Full Member NEWMAN1006's Avatar
    Computer Details
    NEWMAN1006's Computer Details
    Computer:
    P.O.S. #1
    CPU:
    Bosses Kids
    RAM:
    -4 gigs
    Graphics:
    Crayon (The big box of 128)
    Primary Storage:
    216 mb thumb drive
    Secondary Storage:
    my other Pocket
    Monitor:
    T.V. with rabbit ears
    Discipline
    Surveying
    NEWMAN1006's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Land Surveying
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    We are not your typical land surveyors We are involved with Equipment layout and alignment of equipment for Steel mills also do alot in the local Refinery for construction
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    52

    Default Solid Surfaces

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Anyone know a program that can accept point clouds (which will be millions of points) from a 3D laser? Then we would like to create a solid model of the structures and piping.

    Thanks for the help

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,727

    Default

    There is a plug-in for AutoCAD that might work. Check this out...http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_th...ocad-2011.html
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Have deep pockets?
    http://www.geomagic.com
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,121

    Default

    Leica and Kubit have offerings.

  5. #5
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,314

    Default

    Kubit have PointPlant that can do automatic recognition of pipes and fittings
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  6. #6
    Full Member NEWMAN1006's Avatar
    Computer Details
    NEWMAN1006's Computer Details
    Computer:
    P.O.S. #1
    CPU:
    Bosses Kids
    RAM:
    -4 gigs
    Graphics:
    Crayon (The big box of 128)
    Primary Storage:
    216 mb thumb drive
    Secondary Storage:
    my other Pocket
    Monitor:
    T.V. with rabbit ears
    Discipline
    Surveying
    NEWMAN1006's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Land Surveying
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    We are not your typical land surveyors We are involved with Equipment layout and alignment of equipment for Steel mills also do alot in the local Refinery for construction
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    we have Poly-works but he is looking for something that will accept the point cloud and do the center of pipes and sharp edges of I-beams

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2010 - Polyline Quirk - Not showing up as solid when they are drawn solid
    By rwhitt0724 in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2010, 01:29 am
  2. AutoCAD: Best practice: fill hole in solid, remove region from solid
    By MichaelBrenden in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2010, 08:31 pm
  3. Trouble Converting Iges to Solid Body Via Surfaces
    By jossdude in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2010, 07:45 pm
  4. Changing solid surfaces in order to 3d printing
    By nosoutros in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th May 2010, 03:06 pm
  5. Converting a "region" of planar surfaces to 3D solid
    By Alex0856 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2010, 06:06 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts