+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    49

    Default Need help with the roof (autocad architecture 2012)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    house2.pnghouse1.png
    Hello to you all,

    I need some help how to draw my roof correctly. The house has dimension 8 x 8 meters and when I draw the roof with the roof command I get the roof as shown in the picture 2. What I want is the roof to be A HIP roof and not GABLE roof (the first picture). I know that in order to change from Hip to Gable I need to pull the light blue handle on the top. BUT there is only ONE light blue handle to pull?!?! For example when the house dimension is not square (8x but instead for example 8x9 then I can have 2 light blue handles on the top and then I can easily pull them in the right direction and the roof is changed from being hip roof to being gable roof. But when the house dimension is 8 x 8 I only get ONE light blue handle. How can I change that?

    Also, if you look at the picture tONE you can see how I would like my roof to look at the end (red lines). I search a little on the youtube videos regarding roof tutorials but with no luck how to make the roof look like this. How must I draw the roof lines with the ROOF command so that my roof looks like this?

    Hope I explained correctly with my text and pictures what I want.

    Thanks in advance for all your help.

    Best regards to you all,

    Miro
    Last edited by miroslav_s; 20th Mar 2012 at 02:18 pm.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,994

    Default

    It is quite simply the geometry. On a perfectly square house, a normal hip roof (all sides equal pitch) will appear as this one does. All four sides are equal.
    In order for there to ne a horizontal ridge, either two oposite ends of the roof will have to have a pitch that is not equal to the adjacent sides, or you have to have a house that is not perfectly square.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Hello again,

    Well I managed to fix the roof so that changes from gable roof to hip roof. Now the only problem remaining is how to “pull out”that smaller roof out (first picture with the red lines showing how the roof should look like). How do I do that?

    Really need help with this.
    Bets regards
    M

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    49

    Default

    67 views no help?

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miroslav_s View Post
    Hello again,

    Well I managed to fix the roof so that changes from gable roof to hip roof. Now the only problem remaining is how to “pull out”that smaller roof out (first picture with the red lines showing how the roof should look like). How do I do that?

    Really need help with this.
    Bets regards
    M
    Well, I see now. My answer seemed backwards because it appears you referred to picture 1, a gable roof, as a hip roof, and referred to picture 2, a hip roof, as a gable. I thought you were having a problem with the hip roof not having a horizontal ridge, which is not possible on a house with 4 equal sides, and 4 equal roof pitch angles.

    I wonder why you drew a hip roof and are trying to change it to a gable roof. Why not draw the gable roof from the start? Can you not simply draw two intersecting gable roofs?
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    49

    Default Hi Dana, thanks for answering

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    Well, I see now. My answer seemed backwards because it appears you referred to picture 1, a gable roof, as a hip roof, and referred to picture 2, a hip roof, as a gable. I thought you were having a problem with the hip roof not having a horizontal ridge, which is not possible on a house with 4 equal sides, and 4 equal roof pitch angles.

    I wonder why you drew a hip roof and are trying to change it to a gable roof. Why not draw the gable roof from the start? Can you not simply draw two intersecting gable roofs?
    Hi Dana,
    You are right, I don´t have to draw first a hip roof in order to create a gable roof.Since I´m a beginner I didn´t know that. Now I do and I managed to see that option when I tried to draw roof from the beginning. Now, when I select the roof command the second thing I do is to press letter G to choose Gable roof,then I press Y to confirm it and then I point out all four corners of this 8 x8 meters square (walls) and of course press ENTER. The roof is not made and I get a warning message like this:

    Problem:
    All the sides of the roof are gables
    Possible Solution(s):
    Use roof slab to create all gable sideroof.

    I noticed that the picture in my post above where I am showing how I want my roof to look like is wrong so I made another one. It is a T shaped gable roof, showed in two different views.Can you please instruct me how to draw thisroof?

    p2.png

    p1.png
    Best regards and thanks in advance,
    Miro

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,994

    Default

    I just noticed that you are using ACad Architecture. I am afraid I am not familiar with that particular software. Actually. I was merely trying to help you get the terminology and practicality straightened out.

    Someone will take notice of the thread soon who can help you with your commands to use.

    Possibly, indicating all 4 corners is not correct for a gable roof. It may only want you to indicate the two ends that are gables in order to set some sort of limits. Like I said though, I don't know the commands you are using myself.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    danellis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    216

    Default

    The G for Gable option isn't telling it that you want a gable roof, but that you want that section of the roof to be a gable, or not. The reason the roof in your second post didn't work was because you were trying to make one with four gables!

    The sequence you want is
    <pick point>
    GABLE
    YES
    <pick point>
    GABLE
    NO
    <pick point>
    GABLE
    YES
    <pick point>
    GABLE NO
    <re-pick your first point>

    And that should get you want.

    Your your extensions you'll need to repeat the process to create a second roof.

    dJE

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Hi Danellis,

    Thanks for answering my post. I tried your suggestion and I still can´t draw my roof the way I want. If you see the pictures (my second post) can you PLEASE (I beg you) write down how to do it. Believe me I wouldn´t ask if I didn´t try first 100 times but unfortunately with no luck.

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by danellis View Post
    The G for Gable option isn't telling it that you want a gable roof, but that you want that section of the roof to be a gable, or not. The reason the roof in your second post didn't work was because you were trying to make one with four gables!

    The sequence you want is
    <pick point>
    GABLE
    YES
    <pick point>
    GABLE
    NO
    <pick point>
    GABLE
    YES
    <pick point>
    GABLE NO
    <re-pick your first point>

    And that should get you want.

    Your your extensions you'll need to repeat the process to create a second roof.

    dJE

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    49

    Default Wll I did!!!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well ,
    I finally did it. I maaged to draw the roof the way I want it to look like. Of course it is all explained really good in “Mastering Autocad Architecture “ book. The trick is to convert the roof to roof slab and then to trim parts you don´t want. Yes!
    final roof.png

Similar Threads

  1. Roof, one floor, 2012 REVIT Architecture
    By CADLee in forum Revit Architecture
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2012, 02:06 pm
  2. AutoCAD Architecture 2012 Service Pack 1
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2011, 09:30 pm
  3. AutoCAD Architecture 2012 Update 1
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2011, 08:00 am
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2011, 04:20 am
  5. AutoCAD Architecture 2009 - Roof Slab trimming
    By Polstar in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2011, 12:13 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts