+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Excel Database and AutCAD

    Good day,

    This is my first post after hours of searching. I have bits and pieces related to my question, but nothing substantial. I have a database with ~350 computer's physical coordinates within the building (actually not yet, but a field to fill) and all related info for that computer. Is it possible to have an object for each computer, and have that object's coordinates within the drawing updated when the database is updated? Or anything that can help with IT's management of these assets? The long-term goal is to have the maintenace people to be able to see where an asset(computer) is physically within the building. We will soon be using HP Service Manager 7 which utilizes a database with said information. I apologize if this is in the wrong thread. I have only fiddled with AutoCAD and am now jumping in head-first. I have only about 30 days to figure this out. Thanks!!! (patience with the Noob )

  2. #2
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Ok. I found this from another site's forum....

    "You would need 2 VBA apps:
    1. From AutoCAD open and update Excel or a direct update of a csv file.
    2. From Excel open and update Autocad or use Open Design software.

    If it is just block refs this should be fairly easy if the block name is unique or you save the object handle in excel. WARNING: If a drawing has to be recovered the handle could change or the block name could change!!

    This is why my blocks have a Record Number Attribute that is unique for each block insertion."


    Sound correct? But I'm not that good at code(VBA).

  3. #3
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Calen Anderson View Post
    Ok. I found this from another site's forum....

    "You would need 2 VBA apps:
    1. From AutoCAD open and update Excel or a direct update of a csv file.
    2. From Excel open and update Autocad or use Open Design software.

    If it is just block refs this should be fairly easy if the block name is unique or you save the object handle in excel. WARNING: If a drawing has to be recovered the handle could change or the block name could change!!

    This is why my blocks have a Record Number Attribute that is unique for each block insertion."


    Sound correct? But I'm not that good at code(VBA).
    I would forget about the VBA stuff it may not be around long. I also would not suggest Excel as it's not a database for records. Now either look at the DBConnect commands in AutoCAD or a good Facility Management application. I have done demos on what you are wanting but with AutoCAD MAP3D and databases.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    4,567

    Default

    Maybe start by using Ms Acess which will convert your excell but has a look and fell like excel in simple mode then using Map3d you can do lots of enquiry stuff and have Autocad display.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default

    i have link my excel spreadsheet to atuocad object, but my problem is that i cannot update my excel file from within autocad. the excel file is opened in
    READ ONLY mode in dbconnect data view window.how can i changed to edit mode

  6. #6
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    780

    Default

    In Excel yoiu need to save the file(s) spreadsheets as a shared file. Depending on what version of MS Office as to how, google it or check in the help for the correct way. Then reopen AutoCAD and make the connections.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,407

    Default

    One can link a spreadsheet and a drawing via the DATALINK feature. This has been around since AutoCAD 2008.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_map View Post
    In Excel yoiu need to save the file(s) spreadsheets as a shared file. Depending on what version of MS Office as to how, google it or check in the help for the correct way. Then reopen AutoCAD and make the connections.
    i tried it but again the same thing i.e the excel spredsheet open in read only mode. i am using ms office 2010 64bit and autocad 2010 64bit. also i am using the DBCONNECT MANAGER to link my excel spreadsheet to my drawing object, for which i need to edit the excel table from within autocad.

  9. #9
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tony barretto View Post
    i tried it but again the same thing i.e the excel spredsheet open in read only mode. i am using ms office 2010 64bit and autocad 2010 64bit. also i am using the DBCONNECT MANAGER to link my excel spreadsheet to my drawing object, for which i need to edit the excel table from within autocad.
    When you use the ODBC Data Source Administrator make sure you check that read only is not checked.

    odbc_manager.jpg
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    thanks for the jpg, but still i am unable to edit the excel data in autocad pls guide me further.
    thanks for ur help

Similar Threads

  1. Shadow effects in AutCAD(dwg) file
    By ani_mit in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2008, 06:21 am
  2. autcad inline editor
    By geordieboy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2006, 01:25 pm
  3. AutCAD crashing when rendering
    By gib65 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2006, 03:51 pm
  4. create a text database between excel and Autocad
    By cisrael in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2005, 10:08 pm
  5. AutCAD 2005
    By Scot C. Perry in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2005, 01:11 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts