+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Center of gravity

    i currently using the autocad2006. i need to find the center of gravity or the mass of my project. i try using the help(F1).it told me to used MASSPROP..but it still can give me of it mass..it said the object is not solid...
    how to i turn the object to solid n add the kind of material tat i am using...
    10s

  2. #2
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default Re: Center of gravity

    Welcom in the forum Katew!
    Quote Originally Posted by katew
    i need to find the center of gravity or the mass of my project.
    Hm... AutoCAD works with lines, surfaces, solids. Like in the real life only the solids have a mass. So you will need to draw solids in order to calculate the center of gravity. What is your "project"? How did you draw it? If you have a closed contour you can try to convert it to a REGION and find out that the MASSPROP works on regions.
    I wrote once a Lisp routine to calculate the centroid of a mesh see here
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Geordie's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brisbane Queensland
    Posts
    49

    Default

    You dont say what your Object is. If its a closed polyline or lines you can change it to a region and use massprop on that

  4. #4
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    Geordie I was faster with 2 minutes!
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    i m currently doing a parallel parking autonomous robot...which work will 3 wheel.i need to find my center of mass to prevent the robot from tipping off.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    247

    Default masses

    Some years ago I worked on a problem similar to yours:
    Given are some Objects having its own masses and mass-centers on a truck-frame (a crane-jib unit for instance).
    Where the resulting mass and the resulting mass-center is located if the crane jib is moving?
    I had drawn the single masses and there center-points as vectors on a special layer and then you can calculate the results by some mechanics and a Lisp routine.
    If you do this for some phases of motion you will get a trajetory-line showing the motion of the resulting center-point of the masses and so you get information on stability.
    Regards
    Jochen
    www.black-cad.de

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Turn the obeict into a solid by drawing a closed profile, turn it into a region and then extrude of revolve.
    Aled Taylor
    (File size is someone else's problem)

  8. #8
    Full Member filan1a's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fuccaro View Post
    Welcom in the forum Katew!

    Hm... AutoCAD works with lines, surfaces, solids. Like in the real life only the solids have a mass. So you will need to draw solids in order to calculate the center of gravity. What is your "project"? How did you draw it? If you have a closed contour you can try to convert it to a REGION and find out that the MASSPROP works on regions.
    I wrote once a Lisp routine to calculate the centroid of a mesh see here
    your link does not work, maybe it's the wrong url??
    i think it is this one
    Last edited by filan1a; 23rd Jun 2008 at 03:54 pm.
    If you can't run, keep walking.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes Filan1a, that is the right link.
    This is an old thread. Since the forum software changed, the old links are outdated. Thank you for updating this one!
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts