+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    59

    Default Gaming Computer for CAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Edit: Sorry, I just saw the hardware section. I was only looking at the main sections when I posted this.

    We've been looking at gaming computers for the office. My boss said there was no real difference between gaming computers and workstations. I was skeptical becuase he hasn't been involved with cad work for many years, but it seems that he may be correct from what I've seen online.

    My question is whether this would be suitable for our needs, he seems fixed on getting a Dell:

    http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...ware-aurora-r4

    It doesn't appear that it save the changes I've made so I'll point them out:

    Windows 7 ult (I think professional might work)
    Memory 16 GB
    2 1GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 555 - NVIDIA SLI® Enabled

    We would buy monitors seperately to save money or use ones we have. We need the computers to run Revit MEP 2013, AutoCAD MEP 2013 and NavisWorks 2013 Manager.

    We also have another computer that we think would possibly work with an upgrade. We need it to use all the same programs. When we've tried using 2010 on it before it locked up when we started 3d work (it was fine with 2d.) We ended up using 2007 for the 3d work. The person that we had doing IT at the time mentioned that it might be because of the windows xp is bottelnecking the system. The video card is "designed" for cad but I thinkt the memory is a bit low.

    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @2.83GHz
    3 GB of RAM
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3700


    We also need to look at getting a laptop that can handle all the programs for when we go into the field. I might just try getting another Alienware.



    I'd appreciate any help on this.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Your boss is right and wrong at the same time. Of course there's a difference, but they are minimal nowadays since OpenGL requirements are now being replaced by DirectX/D3D extensions for 3D design.

    And those specs on the WinXP system are beyond outdated. Need to revamp that for sure.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26

    Default

    My personal computer is an Asus g-73jh. It is an amazing computer for what I do on it (AutoCAD Mechanical 2012, Inventor 2012, Revit, Photoshop, 3DS Max, and Maya.) Did I mention it looks AMAZING?!? Ive had it for almost a year and no problems at all. I owned an XPS previously and it would constantly overheat. No overheating issues with this laptop. ill post a link to the asus site and you can check it out for yourself. Only drawback I had with my machine is that its a tad heavy and a little bigger than most 17" laptops.

    http://usa.asus.com/Notebooks/Gaming...specifications

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Ok, so is the Alienware I picked overdone or lacking in some way? Is it overpriced?

    Is the XP even worth updating or should be just get another new computer?

    @DoctorDrake
    I couldn't find information on the cost of that computer.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Epicurwin View Post
    @DoctorDrake
    I couldn't find information on the cost of that computer.
    I paid $1100 for mine but i'm almost positive its had a price drop since then. try bestbuy or something?

  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,978

    Default

    A workstation computer is not defined by its GPU alone, but by the CPU (a Xeon if Intel based), GPU, quality of components, etc.

    There are graphics cards for the Gamers and for 3D CAD use. The ones for 3D CAD use have very specialized drivers to help with rendering, beyond that 3D is going to be about the same on either one.

    Now a Workstation - vs - basic computer, there is a big difference but determining if it is worth it or not is up to the buyers. I like Dell's workstations and recently traded in a 6 year old one for a new one. I never had a single issue with it while the bargain basement Dell's I am surrounded by only last two years (+/-) and have to be replaced. I would suggest buying one of what ever you choose and try it out to see how it goes. If you go the lower priced route maybe buy one Precision Workstation and compare it to the others over time and then you will have some of your own data for the next time you are ready to replace computers.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #7
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    A workstation computer is not defined by its GPU alone, but by the CPU (a Xeon if Intel based), GPU, quality of components, etc.
    Exactly. Hard drives are another plus... you get 24/7 rated drives in most Workstations, better RAID controllers, etc.

    And through the years I've found that Workstation grade laptops are a must, but desktops, you can slide by with a "gaming rig".
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    My home computer was originally put together by a college student for gaming. I didn't change a thing when I bought it off him to use for CAD. I even kept the gaming card as I don't do any renderings but I do a lot of 3D work which the card handles with no problem.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,079

    Default

    Technically very few rendering engines actually use the GPU for rendering. Most still use the CPU for this. I don't think that the default Mental Ray that comes with Max or Maya is GPU enabled. Some engines are going this route so be sure to do your homework before you buy. Oh, noting wrong with a Dell as long as the specs are OK
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #10
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,528

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    There are graphics cards for the Gamers and for 3D CAD use. The ones for 3D CAD use have very specialized drivers to help with rendering, beyond that 3D is going to be about the same on either one....
    I suspect this is a bit out of date. As far as I can determine expensive CAD cards are a waste of money. The game industry is driving the state of the art of all graphics and the CAD companies are adapting to that and utilizing that technology driver. I will try to post source urls later today.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Accessory: Computer Glove by IMAK
    By HyperPics in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Aug 2010, 07:10 am
  2. Computer Accessory: Computer Glove by IMAK
    By HyperPics in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2010, 09:31 am
  3. CAD cards vs Gaming Cards HELP!!!
    By markjohnsonii in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2010, 05:34 pm
  4. New Graphics Card - Quadro or Gaming
    By cadboi08 in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Jul 2008, 11:00 pm
  5. What computer?
    By Shep in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2008, 11:49 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts