+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Station Offset Label Question

    I am using Civil 3D 2012. After creating station/offset labels on fixed points that refer to an alignment; I can change certain labels to other layers so that they turn on and off with the layer and match the color of that layer. This is convenient when you only want to see a particular layer. I'm now on a different drawing and want to do the same thing, but when I go to properties and change to a different layer, the label is unchanged. Is there a global label style that overides the setting?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    9,966

    Default

    I moved your thread to the Civil 3D & LDD forum for you.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 330
    Discipline
    Civil
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Check the label style. I believe that, when you assign 0 to the label's layer, it will inherit the properties of the layer on which you put the label itself. On the other hand, if you assign some other layer, you have to change settings for that layer to affect the label. It sounds like the label is on layer 0 in the first drawing and on another in the second.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks CyberAngel.....that solved part of my problem. Now I can shut off the linework by turning off the layer, but the labels stay on. I have other layers with labels that shut off when the layer is turned off. Just can't find what is different about this one!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default

    The labels are assigned properties different or independent of the linework. Check the settings used to set up the labels in C3D.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for your input, Bill! The way I create labels is by using the setting "0" and then highlighting the label > properties> then change to the same layer that the linework is on. The label changes to the color of the desired layer.
    I have several other layers with labels matching the layer of the linework, and they all disappear when the layer is turned off.......except this one!! I have compared settings everyplace I know of, but they all appear the same. I'm at a loss!!
    Thanks anyway!!

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Eureka!! Found a way around the problem, albeit only a fix; it works! The labels that were not shutting off with the layer were changed to a different layer. When that layer was turned off; so were the labels. I then changed the labels back to the desired layer and Voila, they now turn off with the layer! Thanks for the help!!
    Clayton

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Clay,

    Check the default settings in 'prospector' for the initial settings of the labels and linework. In there you should be able to direct the labels to the desired layers. I tend to stay away from layer 0...becomes a catch-all that clutters up with junk.

Similar Threads

  1. Offset line question
    By c_space in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2012, 02:29 am
  2. Offset Plane Will Not Offset Correctly
    By Bill Tillman in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2011, 03:15 am
  3. single digit station label
    By sandiegophil in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2010, 03:32 pm
  4. Point File Station Offset
    By JeStoneIV in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2010, 04:06 pm
  5. Civil 3d label question
    By JerryG in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2008, 06:44 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts