+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    paul1966's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7 pro
    Motherboard:
    ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA
    CPU:
    AMD Sempron 3400+ 1.81Ghz
    RAM:
    3 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX1000
    Primary Storage:
    Maxtor 80 GB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2232BW 22 inch wide screen + 22inch TFT
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    165

    Default import cad template into revit?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    is it possible to import a cad template into revit to use as a border or is it best to redraw from new in revit, we have attributes in the title block, is it possible to have the same with revit borders?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,749

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by paul1966 View Post
    is it possible to import a cad template into revit to use as a border or is it best to redraw from new in revit, we have attributes in the title block, is it possible to have the same with revit borders?
    No, no, and double-triple-quadruple no!!

    You are making a grave mistake already. AutoCAD needs to be completely abandoned both physically and mentally when transitioning into Revit. You need to start completely from scratch as there is nothing in Revit that remotely works like AutoCAD. Here is a very good link that explains how to build a good Revit template, and why: http://www.revitforum.org/tutorials-...-template.html

    Happy reading.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Can't browse my computer Enter file name import / template
    By wiemer in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2012, 01:35 pm
  2. Import Revit into Inventor
    By Denimoth in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2010, 04:53 am
  3. Revit Template
    By jonesy in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd May 2009, 07:29 pm
  4. Template Import
    By Hardney in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2009, 10:25 pm
  5. import solidworks to revit
    By FIFTHTEXAS in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Aug 2008, 02:50 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts