+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Laughing What is the Best way to make a 2D drawing into 3d? from AutoCAD to Inventor

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As the title suggests, that i basically am experimenting on ways to make 2d drawings of a part (all three views) that's an orthographic projection into a 3d part in Inventor.

    I have tryed using the free 2d to 3d tool, but i feel its lacking a lot of options. (and on top of that AutoDESK Inventor is on the lowest of the list of programs i know well)

    i have a drawing that i would like to share (Please give me credit for it if you plan to use it) and that if anyone can make it properly to 3d and explain how, i will forever grateful

    Megalodon-Ortho.dwg

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    I'm kind of surprised this thread got no replies. Let's give it a *bump* and see what happens.

    Have you made any further progress on your own?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,224

    Default

    Modeling it in Autocad Vanilla would be easy enough, why bother using Inventor?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #4
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Default

    well my work wants to quickly create parts or whole models of conveyor sections in inventor as its the program were switching to.
    I want to figure out a way to make it quick and painless. Im not a good inventor user but im constantly playing around with the program to learn it as i go....

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,517

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paisis123 View Post
    Im not a good inventor user but im constantly playing around with the program to learn it as i go....
    You might start here
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf
    then go through the Help>Learning Tools>Tutorials
    search Google for Rob Cohee Inventor YouTube
    then http://au.autodesk.com
    I would not fool with trying to get AutoCAD into Inventor as a beginner. You would be better off starting from scratch creating the geometry in Inventor and this would build your experience. I would wager that 90% of AutoCAD work is incorrectly done anyhow. Your drawing is certainly incorrect. Probably your best bet is to go ahead and dimension the AutoCAD drawing and then use it only as reference. The missing geometry will become apparent as you model the 3D part. Just like the guys out on the shop floor have to deal with this stuff.
    BTW - you posted in the AutoCAD forum what is really an Inventor question.
    Attempt the part you posted and then attach your ipt file here.
    Last edited by JD Mather; 17th Apr 2012 at 01:19 pm.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  6. #6
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Default

    yeh im modeling it and its not coming out right. Im a COMPLETE newb in inventor, but a pretty experienced in AutoCAD

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    Well you want to forget everything you learned in AutoCAD as that only leads to frustration in Inventor. Don't straddle the line; jump into Inventor wholeheartedly.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Default

    yes. I shall Pretend that I never knew auto cad and start with a clean "mind" par say.

    Though at least i have a goal in mind, the drawing that i posted in the begining of the thread is just a test file, once that is fully 3d, rendered, and printed then i can become adept at inventor, but until that happens, then i got some serious "studying".....which translates to alot of googling later....

  9. #9
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Default The inventor Drawing

    Here is literally my first inventor drawing.

    megalodon 1.ipt

    Observe its crudeness.

    Though i have a couple of questions.

    Is there a way to extrude separate faces to make separate parts of the part?
    Is there a way to keep the sketch shown as you extrude?

  10. #10
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,517

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    1. Click the New Solid icon in the Sketch dialog box.
    2. Expand the feature in the browser and right click on the consumed sketch and select Visibility. It will now stay visible until you turn it off. You can use it for additional features (Share sketch).

    I will try to post my quick example of your part later today.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

Similar Threads

  1. How to Make dimensions follow your Drawing in AUTOCAD ?
    By fpanjsh4 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2011, 04:39 am
  2. Is there a way to make autocad type in the drawing name on the model?
    By tiffanysml in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2010, 09:06 pm
  3. How to make part with chain line in Inventor drawing?
    By mkdev2004 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2009, 09:29 pm
  4. Insert Autocad File make Inventor shutdown???
    By kidoy in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2008, 06:34 am
  5. access form to make autocad drawing
    By Impala62 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2007, 03:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts