+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    20

    Default Unclickable text objects?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I recently began working for a landscape architect who doesn't know very much about using AutoCAD, and hired someone to create his page templates, line standards, etc.

    Recently, we have encountered a new problem with page templates in which there are a couple unclickable text blocks within the title block template - it is as if these items don't really exist.

    Info I am aware of:
    Each item within the template is on the same layer, but only a couple items behave this way.

    The template is not comprised of dynamic blocks - just text

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Is this behaviour happens in Model or a Layout tab?
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    119

    Default

    are you sure those are text entities? could they be locked attributes in a block?
    You never want to shoot yourself in the foot, Especially when it's in your mouth.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Is layer "0" on and thawed?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    20

    Default

    the template is in paper space. All layers are on and thawed. Can't check the properties of the text black because it cannot be manipulated in any way.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Please switch to Model Space tab and check if those trouble-maker text entities aren't in fact located there.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  7. #7
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Is it possible that the text is a company letterhead, an image that's been xrefed into the drawing? If TFrames is off, that would explain why you can't select it.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    20

    Default

    the object is not an image, and it is not in model space

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    How about you attach a copy of the DWG file here so we can take a look at it ourselves?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'll attach a copy if I get permission

Similar Threads

  1. Objects, text, etc. are highlighted when I pan over
    By nrschmid in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Jun 2010, 06:49 pm
  2. Changing text size of non-objects
    By SanDamiano in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2008, 06:59 pm
  3. text above objects
    By succu8us in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2008, 07:16 am
  4. Adding text to 3D Objects
    By Dan in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2006, 05:16 am
  5. Linked text/objects
    By DanielB in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2006, 01:25 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts