+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Converting dwg to full-size pdf in AutoCad 2000

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Using the plot command, I am able to convert my AutoCad 2000 drawings to pdf format but I don't know how to save them in their actual size. In other words, I have a drawing that should print on a 24 x 36 sheet in actual size, but when I save it in a 1:1 plot scale, only an 8-1/2 x 11 section of the 24 x 36 drawing is displayed. I think I need the ability to designate a 24 x 36 paper size but I don't see a way to do that.

    I thought I could do that in Plot Device - Properties but there's no paper size option larger than 8-1/2 x 11. I have the PDF Converter, Windows system driver by Autodesk.

    What do I do?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Seem that you need to produce a "D" size sheet in PDF format. There are many free PDF virtual printers - Cute PDF is one of them. This seems to support ARCH D size sheet (35.75 x 25.75 inches).
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I've created output for a "D" size drawing in AutoCAD via the PLOT dialog box on numerous occasions. I think you are overlooking something.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    MSasu:

    Thanks. I have seen Cutepdf referred to elsewhere but I didn't know if I could download it and use it with AC2000 or if it would solve my issue.

    ReMark:
    I realize I could be overlooking something but I haven't found it if I am. What driver are you using? Is it something you can talk me through easily?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I don't recall the driver. I'd have to switch over to my CAD computer as I do not have AutoCAD loaded on the laptop I am using at the moment.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    PLOT > Printer/Plotter Name: > DWG to PDF.pc3

    Paper Size > use scroll arrow > select: ARCH D (36.00 x 24.00 Inches)

    Select any other pertinent plot parameters then 1) Click on the Preview button 2) if the Preview looks good click on the OK button. A PDF file, to the correct size, will be created.

    Done.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    ReMark:

    That's my problem. The paper sizes in the drop down list are Letter, Legal, A4, A3, and some others, none of which exceeds 8-1/2 x 11. I don't have a plotter so there are no parameters configured for one that would include D3 and other large formats. It makes me think I'm not missing a capacity I actually have but that I am missing something I need to acquire. Is Cutepdf the answer?

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Add a custom paper size to the DWG to PDF plotter:
    2012-04-22_085612.png

  9. #9
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boatworks View Post
    I have seen Cutepdf referred to elsewhere but I didn't know if I could download it and use it with AC2000 or if it would solve my issue.
    This tool, like other virtual printers, will be installed in system and therefore become available like a regular printer in all applications.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Maybe I have more options because I have drivers installed for three different printers, one of which, a HP 500+ Designjet, can print up to a "D" size sheet.

    Find, download and install drivers for a similar plotter and see what happens.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. converting from AutoCAD 2000 to AutoCAD 2010 !
    By ncasello in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2012, 05:54 pm
  2. Full Size Disney Up! Movie House Designed Using AutoCAD
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2011, 02:20 am
  3. Draw twice full size but keep full size dimensions
    By matt4 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2009, 03:17 am
  4. converting a file to AutoCAD 2000 format
    By wad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2006, 02:38 am
  5. converting autocad 2000 drawings to dxf.
    By dangermouse in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2003, 08:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts