+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Mark_CV3D's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    gigabyte
    CPU:
    i5
    RAM:
    8gb
    Graphics:
    quadro 580
    Primary Storage:
    ocz vertex 2 120gb ssd
    Monitor:
    22" + 27"
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default change alignment start without destroying my profile

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a project with alots of intersections and alot of stuff thats built around a main alignment that must be edited in the start/ beginning. So i have to move the geometry a bit and im worried about whats happening with my profile.

    I want the profile to stay the same after station 60. I used the station control and picked it as reference point and it works fine except for that my new geometry of the alignment doesnt start at 00.00, but at -07.50 ... Is there some way i can change so that the new start is labeled at station 00.00 without movin my profile??

    I use civil 3d 2012.... Thanks!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,219

    Default

    Have you considered using the OFFSET commands ability to offset to a different LAYER?
    I should think that might be an interesing option for what you are describing.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    139

    Default

    There is one way to do such a thing.

    When you move your alignment (using the grips I assume), the prolfe PI's will stay at the same STATIONING not LOCATION. In other words, a PI at station 0+00.00 will always stay there until you move it yourself.

    So you can do what you have done and change the alignment and then change the starting station.

    OR

    If you want your alignment to start at something else, you can use the MOVE command on the profile and move it however far you changed your alignment.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    247

    Default

    This is a long-standing problem with C3D. The worst is when you edit the Alignment in the middle, so there's no way to simply MOVE the Profile to fit. That's why I created this routine (third-party program):

    http://www.quuxsoft.com/SincpacC3D_H...tchProfile.htm

    Unfortunately, it only changes the Profile you select, and you can still end up with things tied to Alignment stationing that end up in the wrong place after an edit to your Alignment. Autodesk actually made a design decision error when they decided to tie things to Raw Alignment Station, and not have those stations update with edits to your Alignment.
    Richard 'Sinc' Sincovec
    Manager of Technology - Edward-James Surveying
    Tools for Civil 3D - Quux Software

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Mark_CV3D's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    gigabyte
    CPU:
    i5
    RAM:
    8gb
    Graphics:
    quadro 580
    Primary Storage:
    ocz vertex 2 120gb ssd
    Monitor:
    22" + 27"
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hmm.. i guess i have to live with an alignment startin at -16.92 instead of 00.00. Thanks for the routine. Im gonna try it out!

Similar Threads

  1. start up question / profile
    By RocketSurgeon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2011, 12:01 am
  2. Profile View Rotation/Alignment
    By traumathecat in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2011, 05:18 pm
  3. Problem Creating Profile from Alignment
    By rahulchandy in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2010, 02:37 pm
  4. Acad tries to start with deleted profile
    By Randolph in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2010, 05:12 pm
  5. Profile elevation on Alignment
    By Hardney in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2009, 05:12 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts