+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Ravenstown's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    HP Pavilion Elite HPE
    CPU:
    AMP Phenom II x6 1045T 2.7GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor:
    Toshiba 32" LCD
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    35

    Default mep 2011 - Sweep command

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am attempting to create an electrical busduct (busway) installation in my model. The busduct has vertical & horizontal sections in the same run, therefore there a horizontal & vertical bends (elbows) involved. I created the outline of the busduct and then created the centerline and attempted to sweep the outline along the run. Only the horizontal centerline was followed. Apparently the vertical sections of the centerline would not join with the horizontals to complete a single polyline to be used for the centerline of the sweep.. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default

    3DPOLY? with which you can create a single polyline for sweeping.

    or create the path using lines and use the JOIN command?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Bartjacks's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell m2200
    CPU:
    intel I7
    RAM:
    16g
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA 2gb
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bartjacks's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD/ BIM Operations
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    31

    Default

    if i were you i would just use the cable tray command for it, it is way easier and then just throw it on a seperate layer. thats what i usually do for bus duct

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,847

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    For Bus Duct I actually use the HVAC duct tools. But, to each his own.

    PS: If you're using AutoCAD MEP, then start utilizing what's there. What's good about AutoCAD MEP is you can incrementally use the added functionality.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Using The Sweep Command (HELP)
    By Bobzy20 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2010, 08:11 pm
  2. how to use sweep command in 3D
    By srinu_vasu38 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2010, 01:13 pm
  3. Not understanding the sweep command
    By triglyph in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Feb 2010, 06:15 am
  4. hoe can i used sweep command in helix?
    By bambhroliya in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2009, 02:47 pm
  5. sweep command
    By ica_cici in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Jun 2009, 07:02 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts