+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    TFish's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    HP XW4200
    CPU:
    Pentium (R) 4 3ghz
    RAM:
    512k
    Primary Storage:
    Maxtor 6YO80
    Monitor:
    HP 1902
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    10

    Default Opening Drawings From A Network Drive - AutoCAD 2007

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    One of our CAD users where I work is experiencing this issue: When accessing our drawings from the storage server, he cannot open. He can get to the drawing files, but must drag them to his desktop and then open. Sounds like it should be a simple fix or setting. Any clues? He claims this started about 2 weeks ago. I may try a system restore if all else fails.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,207

    Default

    Sounds like a network folder permissions problem.

    What happens when the CAD user tries to open the file on the network? Any messages? Are they using AutoCAD to open the file or Windows Explorer?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    TFish's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    HP XW4200
    CPU:
    Pentium (R) 4 3ghz
    RAM:
    512k
    Primary Storage:
    Maxtor 6YO80
    Monitor:
    HP 1902
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the response. Don't know why, but it started working for him this morning. Problem resolved...For now.

Similar Threads

  1. Updating menus from network drive
    By au-s in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2010, 01:30 pm
  2. opening multiple drawings in AutoCAD 2008
    By Spiderguy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 05:41 pm
  3. opening drawings done in Autocad 2008 LT
    By Big G in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2007, 06:57 pm
  4. drawings opening up in wrong AutoCAD version
    By Cadracer504 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2007, 02:00 pm
  5. Trouble opening drawings 2007
    By Monkey76 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2006, 01:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts