How to make the drawing area smaller

Z06Seal

Hello everyone,

I'm coming from corel draw to autocad. I'll be making 2D templates for consturction. I make the molds so they're inside out. anyways... I'm a full newbie in acad so I had some questions

how do I scale the background so that it's not in hundreds of feet? I work with very small small. usually 96x48 inches. sometimes I'll draw circles with about radius of 100-300 but then will cut them to get only about 60 degrees of it...

so can someone tell me how to re scale the background so it's within my range and not in a size that's meant to design a whole house? lol..

thanks!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Z06Seal

• tzframpton

• BIGAL

• SLW210

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello everyone,

I'm coming from corel draw to autocad. I'll be making 2D templates for consturction. I make the molds so they're inside out. anyways... I'm a full newbie in acad so I had some questions

how do I scale the background so that it's not in hundreds of feet? I work with very small small. usually 96x48 inches. sometimes I'll draw circles with about radius of 100-300 but then will cut them to get only about 60 degrees of it...

so can someone tell me how to re scale the background so it's within my range and not in a size that's meant to design a whole house? lol..

thanks!

There are two "spaces" in AutoCAD. You have a drawing space and a print space. The correct term is Modelspace and Paperspace. Modelspace is virtually infinite. Paperspace is what you use to print from and you use Viewports that act as a window to view an area of the Modelspace. So in a sense, you never "scale" the Modelspace. But if you want, you can manipulate Paperspace to fit any size your heart desires. Paperspace simply represents a literal "page" in the real world.