+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Cannot get render to begin

    For some reason revit will not start rendering. When I begin the rendering on a 3d view (1mb, draft setting) It thinks about it for about 30 minutes and then tells me I need more memory. What am I doing wrong. I feel like I have tried everything. I have removed things from the view. I have made sure there are no links to the drawing. I am utterly lost, and am beginning to worry if I will get these done by my presentation on friday. Any help will be appreciated.

    Best,
    C

  2. #2
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    When I open up one of the tutorial files that come with Revit, I can render a relatively large high quality image in 5 minutes. I don't think it has to do with the settings of revit, but more so with my file.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Visalia, CA
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chmiller8 View Post
    It thinks about it for about 30 minutes and then tells me I need more memory.
    I'd stick more memory in it first. I'm sure a stick of memory costs less than the time you're putting into trying to work around it.
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Roy View Post
    I'd stick more memory in it first. I'm sure a stick of memory costs less than the time you're putting into trying to work around it.
    I have the most recent macbook pro with 8gig of memory. I am running revit on windows with VMWare. I have dedicated 4 cores to Windows and 5 gig of memory.

    When I render other sample projects that come with rev it for the tutorial, they work fine. Could it be a glitch or something with my file?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Visalia, CA
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Ooh....Mac....I change my original answer to "Get a different computer."

    1. I hate Mac and refuse to use it.
    2. I thought I read that Revit doesn't like Mac either?

    If not those two, I have no idea.
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Yeah, thats probably true, however when I open the file on a PC with 8gig memory, it does the same thing...

  7. #7
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Visalia, CA
    Posts
    432

    Default

    How big is the file?
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    the revit file is 45.9 mb

  9. #9
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Visalia, CA
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yeah, I give up.

    Lol, sorry. I've burned my brain out for today on other stuff.

    Where's Tannar?
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

Similar Threads

  1. revit file will not begin to render
    By darris07 in forum Revit General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Apr 2012, 04:55 am
  2. 2D Drawing. Where to begin?
    By Drieze in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2011, 12:07 pm
  3. How to Begin...!?
    By CADLearner in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th Oct 2010, 12:30 pm
  4. how to begin-design a box
    By Immad Uddin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2008, 08:03 am
  5. Let the Tour Begin!
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2008, 04:00 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts