+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    numberOCD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8730w
    RAM:
    4Gb
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Chicago/New York USA
    Posts
    163

    Default Data Link Tables compress and change text size when updated

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi there,

    I decided to try the advice I read and start using Data Link Tables for my Excel sheet instead of OLELinks. The appearance is far sharper, and I am also pleased there is no background color transfered. What IS the problem is when I update the table, its goes from 12" Wide by 12" Tall table @ 7/16" Text W/O borders back to 3" Wide by 10" Tall with varying text size to fit and gains back all borders except diagonals (of which none are present on the Excel file).

    So I need to figure out a way to default the format when I refresh so that it holds each cell at the 6"X1" dimensions with no border.

    With that, If there is a way to have a stencil for making the range links with Excel, that would be useful. I use the exact same 4 or 6 ranges (2 formats) in every dwg.

    Thanks Everyone!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,102

    Default

    A stencil? I think you mean your own table style. And the answer is "yes". It's the same process as creating a custom dimension style and using it in a variety of drawings. One option is to put this new style on a tool palette. The other option would be to drag and drop it from the Design Center.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    numberOCD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8730w
    RAM:
    4Gb
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Chicago/New York USA
    Posts
    163

    Default

    So I've been trying the table format but that seems to only work on a fresh table, not an imported table; at least from the process I've been trying this morning. Could you elaborate a bit on this formatting?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,102

    Default

    Your original question was how to create a new table that would be of your own style. Now you want to edit an imported table?

    Post a drawing with a copy of this imported table so we can take a look at what you are working with.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    numberOCD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8730w
    RAM:
    4Gb
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Chicago/New York USA
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Junction Box R120 - Standard.zip

    On this case, I am inserting E6:F29 from Sheet R120JB. on the dwg, the table to the left is how it imports initially, the table to the right is how I want it to turn out: 7/16" tall text, 1" tall x 6" for each cell.

    The no borders an text type seemed to work from the table type I created. The Row and Column count would be constant.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,102

    Default

    You can edit the height and width of the table's cells using the blue arrows that you see when you click on any part of the table.

    You can change the height of the text in one cell then use the Match Cell command found on the Cell Styles panel to change the contents of the other cells.

    Bottom line...yes, you can make the table on the left look like the one on the right. It's just going to take a bit of effort.

    How did I learn all this? I consulted AutoCAD Help. Too many users overlook this feature of AutoCAD.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    numberOCD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8730w
    RAM:
    4Gb
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Chicago/New York USA
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Oh, I understand the method of editing the table; I made both of these. I was trying to find how to hold the form in updates, assuming an annotation style would achieve having control of cell size and text size. I AM finding that in MEP 2013 it is holding itself fine during updates, so I will have to update my trainee's edition to avoid this problem.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,102

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It will hold itself just fine if you don't go unlocking the cells. I've never experienced a problem with a table resizing itself nor changing text height.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't change dimension text size
    By Bill T in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2011, 02:33 am
  2. Editing Tables in TL changes text size
    By chelsea1307 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Jun 2010, 12:21 am
  3. How to change text size
    By sharpooth in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2010, 07:14 pm
  4. 'Can't seem to get dim text size to change...
    By dpaulku in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2009, 01:19 am
  5. cant change dimension text size
    By b.muqlueen in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2008, 03:46 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts