+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Exporting multiple blocks in one dwg to having them as individual dwgs

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi
    What sort of program would I need to run to extract multiple blocks from one dwg to individual dwgs?

    I would appreciate any suggestions.

    Cheers

    Michael

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,217

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.
    You don't need any additional software, just use the WBLOCK command.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,747

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Welcome to the forum.
    You don't need any additional software, just use the WBLOCK command.
    1+ ... On both counts.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD® 2014, and Civil 3D® 2014 Certified Professional | Autodesk® Authorized Developer
    Autodesk Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  4. #4
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Discipline
    Construction
    pBe's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Camp Construction planning and details
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,640

    Default

    What they said <------- Click this link: Utilizing the command Wblock
    Last edited by pBe; 29th Apr 2012 at 10:59 am.

  5. #5
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVida 4400
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    829

    Default

    You can also use AutoCAD Design Center to transfer blocks from one drawing to another. Type ADC to start design center.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  6. #6
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,747

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by profcad View Post
    You can also use AutoCAD Design Center to transfer blocks from one drawing to another. Type ADC to start design center.
    Design Center is good for transferring blocks to a single drawing (of course, you could always use Lee's 'Steal from Drawing' routine instead), but falls short of the stated request of placing each block in a separate drawing.

    To accomplish the stated task, it would be simple enough to iterate a valid selection set, and WBLOCK each entity individually.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD® 2014, and Civil 3D® 2014 Certified Professional | Autodesk® Authorized Developer
    Autodesk Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  7. #7
    Super Member asos2000's Avatar
    Computer Details
    asos2000's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cairo Egypt
    Posts
    625

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Attached 2 lisp
    one to export all blocks and another one to import a group of dwgs
    Attached Files
    Sorry for my English.

Similar Threads

  1. Rotate multiple blocks around their individual origin point
    By justindm in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2012, 10:35 pm
  2. attempting to publishing multiple dwg files to individual pdf's
    By RocketSurgeon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2011, 02:52 pm
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2010, 03:56 am
  4. Measuring Individual Lengths of Multiple Lines
    By CADjam in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2009, 06:20 am
  5. Exporting individual layouts to separate drawings?
    By Gideon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th May 2005, 03:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts