+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Mysterious Custom Hatch Error

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm trying to create a simple 2x4 ceiling grid hatch for layout planning, but AutoCAD keeps giving me an error when I try to use it.

    Here's the custom hatch that I wrote at the very end of the acad.pat file:
    *CGRID, 2x4 grid
    0, 0,0, 0,48
    90, 0,0, 0,24


    When I load up ACAD, it shows the hatch in the selection, but after I've defined the area and I try to apply the hatch, I get this error in the command line:
    Missing parameter on line 385.
    ?


    I have no idea why it's not finding my custom hatch acceptable. Thoughts or suggestions?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,192

    Default

    Now turn your attention to this article by Ralph Grabowski.

    http://www.upfrontezine.com/tailor/tailor13.htm
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I'm still looking for some help. I followed the tutorial on that link, but he does a pretty poor job at simplifying his explanation.

    Here's what I wrote:

    *CGRID, 2x4 grid
    0, 0,0, 0,48
    90, 0,0, 0,24

    And here's his description:
    angle, x-origin, y-origin, x-offset, y-offset

    I don't see my error. I specify angle, then X origin, then Y origin, then X offset, then Y offset. I do the same for the second line. Are you required to specify gap space, even if you don't want any?

    Edit: I've been trying to solve this issue, and I've coppied one of the existing patterns in acad.pat (AR-B816) and pasted it at the very botton of the list. I ONLY renamed it like this:

    *CGRID, 2x4 Grid
    0, 0,0, 0,8
    90, 0,0, 8,8, 8,-8

    It's still giving me the "error on line 384" error. So, I don't know what's wrong with it, because those numbers are copy+paste from the original AutoCAD hatch (which works fine).

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,192

    Default

    Have you tried it this way?

    *GRID24x48, 24x48 Ceiling Grid
    0, 0,0, 0,24
    90, 0,0 0,48

    Does your file name and pattern name match?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,192

    Default

    A ready made hatch pattern for a ceiling grid you might be interested in can be found here.

    http://cadtips.cadalyst.com/patterns/ceiling-grid

    The guy who wrote it, Watson Kilbourne, is a master at this stuff.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    182

    Default

    Hi,
    If you place the pattern at the end of acad.pat you probably have missed to press Enter at the very end. That's it!

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackfish View Post
    Hi,
    If you place the pattern at the end of acad.pat you probably have missed to press Enter at the very end. That's it!
    That was it, thank you.

    What a simple yet stupid thing to require to "make it work".

Similar Threads

  1. Custom Hatch Request
    By Mason Dixon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 08:01 pm
  2. Custom Hatch Pattens Help
    By AJSmith in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2009, 02:30 pm
  3. Custom Hatch
    By Fred Quinter in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Feb 2009, 04:25 am
  4. Mysterious solid hatch under text
    By allison125 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st Dec 2007, 10:06 am
  5. Custom Hatch gone
    By DODGE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Jul 2007, 01:30 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts