+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: Xref Lag

  1. #1
    Junior Member TRhoads's Avatar
    Computer Details
    TRhoads's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Workstation 690
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" Widescreen Ultrasharp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    TRhoads's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Manager
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Project Manager for commercial projects, following the project from Building Design and layout, through Construction Document Production and into Construction Administration for a small architecture firm in the Atlanta area.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    24

    Default Xref Lag

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    First time poster, but long time AutoCAD user...

    Version: AutoCAD 2004
    Problem:
    When working with an xref background, we are experiencing really bad lag, and delays when working with objects that are drawn on top of an xref. I have restarted the affected computers, restarted the server that all files are housed on, upgraded the network switch...with no results. Tasks that should take fractions of a second, are sometimes lagging anywhere from 3-15 seconds depending on what layers of the xref are un-frozen and visible.

    Any help would be great. This issue seems to be getting worse, and varies depending on files, and it is really starting to slow us down.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,072

    Default

    What are your computer and graphics card specifications?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Junior Member TRhoads's Avatar
    Computer Details
    TRhoads's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Workstation 690
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" Widescreen Ultrasharp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    TRhoads's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Manager
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Project Manager for commercial projects, following the project from Building Design and layout, through Construction Document Production and into Construction Administration for a small architecture firm in the Atlanta area.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    The problem is happening across more than one computer in the office, my station is a Windows XP Dell Workstation Dual 3.2 GHZ processors with 4 GB of ram, the other station experiencing the issue is roughly the same specs with 4gb of ram. The server is roughly the same too, a little less ram, 2GB IIRC.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,072

    Default

    What are the graphics card specs? Is Hardware acceleration on or off?

    Do the xrefs contain any Civil 3D or other non Basic AutoCAD objects or third party created objects?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,621

    Default

    I think the problem is more than likely in the XREFs. I've seen that happen when there is one attribute that is not associated with a block. Sometimes TTFs can cause the same type of behavior.
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,998

    Default

    The drawings you are working with are on the network right? Have you tried downloading one to your desktop and working on it from there?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Junior Member TRhoads's Avatar
    Computer Details
    TRhoads's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Workstation 690
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" Widescreen Ultrasharp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    TRhoads's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Manager
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Project Manager for commercial projects, following the project from Building Design and layout, through Construction Document Production and into Construction Administration for a small architecture firm in the Atlanta area.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Sorry, Nvidia GeForce 512MB. Hardware Acceleration...not sure, is that set in AutoCAD or in the OS?

  8. #8
    Junior Member TRhoads's Avatar
    Computer Details
    TRhoads's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Workstation 690
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" Widescreen Ultrasharp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    TRhoads's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Manager
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Project Manager for commercial projects, following the project from Building Design and layout, through Construction Document Production and into Construction Administration for a small architecture firm in the Atlanta area.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    I think the problem is more than likely in the XREFs. I've seen that happen when there is one attribute that is not associated with a block. Sometimes TTFs can cause the same type of behavior.
    I am wondering if it is something along the line of an object in the xref, this issue is sporadic, and does not happen with each file or every xref. We only use one font so I don't think it is font related.

  9. #9
    Junior Member TRhoads's Avatar
    Computer Details
    TRhoads's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Workstation 690
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" Widescreen Ultrasharp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    TRhoads's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Manager
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Project Manager for commercial projects, following the project from Building Design and layout, through Construction Document Production and into Construction Administration for a small architecture firm in the Atlanta area.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The drawings you are working with are on the network right? Have you tried downloading one to your desktop and working on it from there?
    I just tested it, copied the files to my desktop, same result as working over the network. I un-referenced the title block, and only had the drawing file and the xref.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,621

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Was the XREF created in house? Can you post the XREF?
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2011 moving XREF only moves 1/2 or some of the XREF
    By YPSDude in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2012, 04:36 pm
  2. Changing insertion point of an xref to that of another xref
    By nmulder in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2011, 05:54 pm
  3. Xref processes image when mousing over xref manager
    By BenE in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2010, 04:58 pm
  4. Annotative text in XREF? Xref units mm, parent drawing m
    By spittle in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2009, 09:06 am
  5. Layer states don't transfer from an Xref of an Xref....
    By Dave-CSMW in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2006, 06:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts