+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    77

    Default Moving points from one file to another

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How do I move point from one file to another in Civil 3d? Copy/Paste won't work. I need to import them to the second drawing somehow. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Just isolate the layer and copy and paste, it works !
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Copy/Paste have a history of not working in some cases. I don't think it has ever been fully resolved.

    Possible workarounds: INSERT the dwg with the points in them as a block and then explode the block (if needed).
    ATTACH the dwg with the points as a X-ref, bind it (if needed) and explode (if needed).
    If it is just One POINT - note down the coordinates on a piece of paper and transfer it manually.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    Do you get any error messages when you try to Copy/Paste? What is on the command line?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Copy/Paste works does work in that in copies the points, but I was told the pasted points will no longer contain as much data.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Emigrato's Avatar
    Discipline
    See details...
    Emigrato's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Cisco CCNA
    Using
    Map 3D 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    165

    Default

    Instead of usual Copy&Paste, try _COPYBASE and _PASTEORIG


  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I figured it out. Copy and paste actually works but then I need to do a conversion from there. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Moving a layout to another file
    By The Mad Cadder in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2012, 03:45 pm
  2. Moving points in 3d sketch
    By rogle in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2011, 10:41 am
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Feb 2009, 07:14 am
  4. Moving Customization file from 2004 to 2008?
    By Dana in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2007, 11:17 am
  5. moving arc points to a straight line
    By cutter44 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2006, 08:28 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts