+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    Senior Member Currahee's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Currahee's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Computer:
    Home Built
    Motherboard:
    MICRO-STAR 785GTM-E45
    CPU:
    3 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    2GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Primary Storage:
    250 GB
    Monitor:
    2 - 24" Acer Monitors; 1-H243H, 1-V243H
    Discipline
    Construction
    Currahee's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Owner Currahee Woodworks
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toccoa GA 30577
    Posts
    373

    Question How can I make an ESC button shortcut?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have made my own buttons, bars and LISPs for years and just cant figure out if there is a way to do this.

    I dont know if this can be done....but I get so tired of reaching up and hitting the ESC button or the spacebar. I would love to be able to put this command on either the right-click menu or either on a button. (I know if you can put it on the menu, you can put it on a button...but you get what I am asking...)

    Can this be done?

    Thanks

    Tim
    Last edited by Currahee; 24th May 2012 at 01:28 am.
    Taylor

    AutoCAD & Architecture 2012
    Inventor Professional 2012
    Chief Architect Premier x5

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,248

    Default

    Just hit the spacebar instead.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Currahee's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Currahee's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Computer:
    Home Built
    Motherboard:
    MICRO-STAR 785GTM-E45
    CPU:
    3 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    2GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Primary Storage:
    250 GB
    Monitor:
    2 - 24" Acer Monitors; 1-H243H, 1-V243H
    Discipline
    Construction
    Currahee's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Owner Currahee Woodworks
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toccoa GA 30577
    Posts
    373

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Just hit the spacebar instead.
    ...or reaching up and hitting the spacebar.
    Taylor

    AutoCAD & Architecture 2012
    Inventor Professional 2012
    Chief Architect Premier x5

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BDesign View Post
    ...or reaching up and hitting the spacebar.
    Target fixation, sorry my reading comprehension is usually much better than that, the coffee hasn't kicked in here yet.

    Oh good, I now realize that was an edit, and I didn't misread the original post.

    At least the spacebar is centrally located and quite a bit larger target.
    I too hate to take my right hand off the mouse, but my left hand is typically oncall,
    resting on the left side of my keyboard.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Just hit the spacebar instead.
    That's not equivalent to pressing Esc.

    You can add ^C^C to the end of any existing command and it will work, but what I don't like about that is when you use the right-click button to repeat a command afterward, it repeats the command in your "Escape Macro".

    If you want to be really efficient, get a mouse with a couple extra buttons and assign one of them to Esc.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Currahee's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Currahee's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Computer:
    Home Built
    Motherboard:
    MICRO-STAR 785GTM-E45
    CPU:
    3 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    2GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Primary Storage:
    250 GB
    Monitor:
    2 - 24" Acer Monitors; 1-H243H, 1-V243H
    Discipline
    Construction
    Currahee's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Owner Currahee Woodworks
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toccoa GA 30577
    Posts
    373

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    That's not equivalent to pressing Esc.

    You can add ^C^C to the end of any existing command and it will work, but what I don't like about that is when you use the right-click button to repeat a command afterward, it repeats the command in your "Escape Macro".

    If you want to be really efficient, get a mouse with a couple extra buttons and assign one of them to Esc.
    I didnt think bout that... my mouse has 6 buttons
    Taylor

    AutoCAD & Architecture 2012
    Inventor Professional 2012
    Chief Architect Premier x5

  7. #7
    Senior Member troggarf's Avatar
    Computer Details
    troggarf's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Littleton, Co
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Surprise!!! It is already built in to AutoCAD. Simply click and hold the right mouse button for a few seconds and release. Just dont move the mouse button or you will be prompted to move or copy the selection set - although, that could be useful as well if needed but note that moving or copying with this method will do so without the aid of OSNAPs...
    http://autocadtips.wordpress.com/201...selection-set/
    ~Greg B
    Have fun!! www

  8. #8
    Super Member Pablo Ferral's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    639

    Default

    I agree with troggarf, check out time sensitive right click...

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Ferral View Post
    I agree with troggarf, check out time sensitive right click...
    Yep, a good call by troggarf!
    I wholeheartedly agree, time sensitive right click is the best way to go!
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,133

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No way dudes.... when you do it that way, you are activating DROPGEOM and no matter how careful you are, you're going to make some unintentional/unnoticed drag-n-drops.

Similar Threads

  1. Changing the Orbit mouse button shortcut
    By 3Dcadder in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2009, 12:53 pm
  2. how can i make 2 commands happen with one click of a toolbar button??
    By MikeP in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2009, 08:32 pm
  3. ... make a new button in 2007LT?
    By Gar in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st May 2007, 04:45 pm
  4. make ESC key a toolbar button
    By autoadam in forum Tutorials & Tips'n'Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2007, 03:14 am
  5. How to make this custom toolbar button?
    By Cadastrophic in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2004, 01:23 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts