+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Angry isometric dimensioning

    I need a little help. For the first time in several years I need to dimension an isometric piping drawing. How do I set the dimension style to correctly align the dimension and the text and then how do I apply it to the drawing. The last time I did this was using Autocad 2002 and I am now using Autocad 2010. I seem to remember using aligned dimension which was then somehow rotated into position but the old grey cells just won't shake the info into place.

    Definitely getting frustrated.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g1pix View Post
    I need a little help. For the first time in several years I need to dimension an isometric piping drawing. How do I set the dimension style to correctly align the dimension and the text and then how do I apply it to the drawing. The last time I did this was using Autocad 2002 and I am now using Autocad 2010. I seem to remember using aligned dimension which was then somehow rotated into position but the old grey cells just won't shake the info into place.

    Definitely getting frustrated.
    Don'tcha have to be in one of the 3D Isometric View's to get them to work?
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    3,867

    Default

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...hlight=oblique

    This thread should set you straight, pay special attention to rkent's very nice .dwg in post #5.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Don't know about the need to be in 3D isometric views but no doubt I will learn eventually.

    The link to the cad tutor.net was very useful and informative so thanks for that.

    The link to cadnotes.com however is not quite so just yet. My computer can't open the file so can you give me a bit of info on what software I am likely to need. The file name has no extension and having tried autocad, word and notepad I have not had any success.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,407

    Default

    You should be able to open the link to cadnotes.com without any "special" software. Try again.

    I'm assuming you are doing this all in 2D right?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes 2D is correct.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I can't get at the cad-notes link because the company security system is blocking it. There is probably a word in there it doesn't like, you know what these IT policemen are like.
    Not to worry, the link I got off Dadgad is working for me so I should be OK.
    Thanks..

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the help. I can now dimension iso's and they look right.

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensioning a circle in isometric view
    By Tony D in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30th Aug 2011, 12:40 pm
  2. Dimensioning in isometric
    By Wilbri in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 14th May 2010, 09:24 am
  3. isometric align dimensioning
    By bdr2k5 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2010, 06:35 pm
  4. Dimensioning isometric views
    By WagglyFawn in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2007, 06:16 pm
  5. AUTOMATIC DIMENSIONING IN ISOMETRIC DRAWING
    By steel_dragon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2006, 02:23 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts