+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Senior Member Blackfish's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    182

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I don't understand why you multiplied by 1000 when in a previous post someone suggested multiplying by 100.
    Because the drawing is in meters (when you measure height of a bolard it's 1.1 and should be 1100 , so to get 1:1 in mm it needs to be multiplied by 1000.

    Regarding to layouts I thought that the last one VIEWPOERTS is the main one, where you have everything on one sheet, that's why there is such many scales and viewports.
    LT is still AutoCAD

  2. #22
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Either draw in meters or in millimeters, like ReMark said, we (and your teacher) can't know what is what. I at least have no idea what the objects that you have drawn are so I can't recommend if meters or millimeters is the best.

    I have drawn most of my career in millimeters and just recently switched (along with the entire office, hilarity ensued) over to meters so I know your pains with the scaling in the viewports.

    I gave an example previously about what scale you should have on your viewports if you draw in meters in Model Space. Here's how to calculate that on your own: If you want the scale to be 1:10 when all is done, then the scale you set on the viewport is 1000 x (1/10) = 1000/10 = 100/1. You multiply it always by 1000 to overcome the difference between model space (meters) and paper space (millimeters). So the scale 1:200 becomes 1000 x (1/200) = 1000/200 = 1/0.2 .

    If you draw in millimeters in Model Space, the last paragraph doesn't apply, just set your scale on the viewport to the correct scale.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  3. #23
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,715

    Default

    Blackfish: Yes, the mis-named layout, Viewpoerts, is the main one. I realize that there has to be many viewports that have different scales. My point was none of the scales currently in use make any sense. For example, three randomly picked viewports have scales of 85.03, 503.20 and 62.56. Does that make sense to you? When was the last time you submitted a drawing to a client or for a school assignment that had such scales? The drawing should be done correctly or not done at all.

    ara: It appears you have "constraints" applied to many (799 to be exact) of your model space objects. Was that intentional?

    ara: You have 18 duplicate lines and 69 lines that overlap in some fashion in your drawing. The only way to clean this up would be to run the OVERKILL command found in Express Tools. Having duplicate and overlapping lines is not good technique.

    ara: You have constraints applied in your paper space layout (Viewpoerts) which should not be there. Delete them.
    Last edited by ReMark; 30th May 2012 at 01:00 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  4. #24
    Senior Member Blackfish's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Blackfish: Yes, the mis-named layout, Viewpoerts, is the main one. I realize that there has to be many viewports that have different scales. My point was none of the scales currently in use make any sense. For example, three randomly picked viewports have scales of 85.03, 503.20 and 62.56. Does that make sense to you? When was the last time you submitted a drawing to a client or for a school assignment that had such scales? The drawing should be done correctly or not done at all.
    OK, you're right. It needs to be done right.

    I understand your point, but I assumed that the scales of viewports in paper space were wrong and random, because the OP was not able to set 'normal' ones when the drawing in model space were done in meters, so again, I assumed thta was wrong and need to be amended. When the drawing is properly scaled the OP can now set 'normal' scales to viewports.
    LT is still AutoCAD

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,715

    Default

    ara: What objects were scaled differently back in model space?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,715

    Default

    ara1.jpg
    This object is drawn incorrectly. One line (on the left) measures 0.12 while the other measures 0.09. Wouldn't they both be the same?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #27
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,715

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ara2.jpg
    These two lines have two different measurements. Shouldn't they be the same?
    One measures 0.12 and the other 0.14.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

Similar Threads

  1. Viewport scale + Annotative Scale Problems
    By funk in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Jul 2011, 05:56 am
  2. Problems with Line scale
    By emma_edi in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2010, 02:56 pm
  3. Scale Problems
    By Hoover in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2008, 08:08 pm
  4. not urgent just anoying-Long scale list
    By Scotle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2008, 04:19 pm
  5. Scale problems goes to plot problems
    By krompircica in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Jun 2008, 05:27 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts