Urgent scale problems

Hi

Im new to this so i hope im in the right place.

Ive been an auto-cad user for over a year but am still having the same problems, i wonder if anyone can help.

I have drawn a number of construction drawings in model space, and i thought i had done them to scale.

However i have to zoom in to the fullest extent to see them, then when i go to paper space my view port scales are at 100:1 rather than 1:20 or 1:50.

I know its something to do with my scaling setup but i cant figure it out. Is there anything i can do with my drawing now to correct it so they become the right scale?

Any help would be so greatly appreciated :)

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ara09lf

• ReMark

• Blackfish

• Tiger

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi and welcome to the forums.

First some followup questions.

Do you draw in meters, millimeters or inches?

How does your Page Setup / Plot window look? Do you have plot scale set to 1:1? What size is your paper?

And btw, where are you from? What kind of work do you do? Just curious :)

If you draw everything in model space 1:1, you will have 'normal' scales (1:20, 1:50) in paper space.

So, if your drawing is smaller than 1:1 in model space just scale it. Use SCALE command, any base point and multiply by number to get your elements 1:1, i.e. if you drew 1:100 you need to multiply by 100.

In model space my scale icon is at 1:1, ive drawn mainly in meters but switched half way through for some smaller areas. My paper size is A1.

If you draw in meters, you have to calculate what scale you set on your viewport. This is because the Paper Space is still in millimeters. So if you need a scale at 1:5 in the end, you need to set the scale as 200:1 on the viewport.

if you draw in millimeters, then you can set the scale 'normally' on the viewport as Blackfish said.

If you can upload your drawing here, someone might take a look at it and give you more advice.