+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Data Extraction

  1. #1
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default Data Extraction

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    we recently had a subbie who has ignored all instructions on how to create wire end markers that work with the routines we normally use and has left us with blocks all over the drawing.

    We need to extract just one value from each of the blocks.

    I have just looked at dataextraction which works but is labour intesnsive when we have constant block names and tag names.

    Can somebody recommend a way to extract the value of the WIRE_NUMBER tag in a number of blocks named "WIRE DETAILS" and output them to <drawing_name>.txt? A method that can be scripted would be brilliant!

    edit---------------------------------
    should be output to a txt file, not a dwg file. That's what comes of trying to leave on time!
    Last edited by dbroada; 30th May 2012 at 06:38 pm.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    When the value of WIRE_NUMBER is output to a drawing what form does it take? Plain text? Is it going to be used in a table? Why isn't the output going to a database file or even a spreadsheet?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    the wire number is plain text and is fed into a printing machine for the heat shrink markers

    I have now corrected the error in the above post.

    On the way home I realise this is a relatively simple LISP routine but I don't really have the time to progress one (especially as I prefer VBA) and I start my holiday tomorrow night.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Might this lisp of Lee's be helpful?

    http://www.lee-mac.com/macatt.html
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    looks good from here ATM!

    Initially I thought that I didn't want all the dialogue boxes but I see the last line says it can be run on a complete directory so that would make me happy. Off to try it now.......
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  6. #6
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dbroada View Post
    looks good from here ATM!

    Initially I thought that I didn't want all the dialogue boxes but I see the last line says it can be run on a complete directory so that would make me happy. Off to try it now.......
    Don't even need to open the drawings, eh?
    Good luck.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    YEAAAAA!!!!

    does what I want.
    Thank you (and Lee)

    now to write some instructions in time to start packing
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  8. #8
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by dbroada View Post
    YEAAAAA!!!!

    does what I want.
    Thank you Lee

    now to write some instructions in time to start packing
    Lee to the rescue, as always! Who ya gonna calling?
    Have a great vacation!
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2012, 07:13 am
  2. Data extraction
    By nsaudrey in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2011, 03:35 pm
  3. Data Extraction
    By RyanAtNelco in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st May 2009, 08:16 am
  4. Data Extraction ?? Help??
    By WCCSAM in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2009, 09:26 pm
  5. Extraction of data in CAD
    By Sudhir in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2009, 12:23 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts