+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default New template file (dwt) opens in model space autocad 2013 !!!!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Please can anyone help , I`ve been trying to create a new drawing template in autocad 2013, I have saved it as a dwt file as suggested . When i go to open the new template the first thing i notice is that the thumb nail has a black ground , while the other templates that came with autocad have a white background !...when i open the
    dwt file it opens like a normal dwg file in model space not in paper space. the dwt file
    behaves as just a normal file . can anyone help please ?

    regards Darren ( Huddersfield , England )

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    182

    Default

    That's 'normal' AutoCAD behavior. A drawing template (.dwt) is used to pre-set and store:
    • Layer names
    • Title blocks
    • Snap, Grid, and Ortho settings
    • Annotation styles (dimension, text, table and multileader)
    • Linetypes etc.
    For more follow this link: http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2010/EN...0acaf-78f3.htm

    Background color in thumbnail doesn't matter. When you open any of the others templates the background color will be the same color as you have set in AutoCAD in your current profile; it doesn't change with different drawings. It's user's setting.

    The way the drawing opens in Model or Paper Space depends on in which space did you save your template.

    Any queries... don't hesitate to ask.
    LT is still AutoCAD

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,226

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.

    Blackfish is right, just switch to the layout/paperspace before you do your SAVE AS ....... .dwt file, and you should be good.

    Did you remember to make sure that you are creating your template in whichever, METRIC or IMPERIAL unit style you prefer to work?

    If you want to set up a blank template .......... http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...rial-or-Metric

    When you go to OPTIONS > USER PREFERENCES > DEFAULT SCALE LIST > it will indicate which unit format it is, by which list is active.
    Should you want to you can edit the contents, not the format of that scale list.
    Have you set your new template as the DEFAULT TEMPLATE for QNEW yet?
    Last edited by Dadgad; 1st Jun 2012 at 02:10 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks very much for that . Things are not right yet though. The dwt file is now opening in paper space , but it is still visible in model space, the default templates are not visible in model space . .....I`m wanting to use my company template on all our drawing . I need our template to be flat ie 2d and then be able to have 3d drawings inside our 2d template .Because the template is showing in model space it goes into a isometric view when i put our drawings into an isometric view....

    Any ideas what i`m doing wrong.........regards Darren

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,977

    Default

    I believe the OP is referring to a Titleblock (border) when using the term "template"

    Quote Originally Posted by darren bagga View Post
    Thanks very much for that . Things are not right yet though. The dwt file is now opening in paper space , but it is still visible in model space, the default templates are not visible in model space . .....I`m wanting to use my company titleblock on all our drawing . I need our titleblock to be flat ie 2d and then be able to have 3d drawings inside our 2d titleblock. Because the titleblock is showing in model space it goes into a isometric view when i put our drawings into an isometric view....
    Insert the titleblock while you are in Paperspace instead of modelspace. The titleblock will not be visible from the Model tab, but it will be visible in the Layout tab(s) in both Modelspace and Paperspace and it will always remain "flat" because Paperspace is only 2D.

    Post the drawing (dwt) if you are still having trouble.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,226

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by darren bagga View Post
    Thanks very much for that . Things are not right yet though. The dwt file is now opening in paper space , but it is still visible in model space, the default templates are not visible in model space . .....I`m wanting to use my company template on all our drawing . I need our template to be flat ie 2d and then be able to have 3d drawings inside our 2d template .Because the template is showing in model space it goes into a isometric view when i put our drawings into an isometric view....

    Any ideas what i`m doing wrong.........regards Darren
    nestly has got you straightened out now, the language threw me off the scent, you're in good hands, problem solved.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2008 LT opens new session for every file...read further before you hate me
    By stockers in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2011, 12:46 am
  2. 2011 AutoCAD - Setting my LTSCALE in Paper Space as the same it is in Model Space
    By Rage221677 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2010, 07:31 pm
  3. autocad .DWT file or template file
    By myfastls1 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2009, 08:05 pm
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2007, 12:40 am
  5. Convert 3D AutoCAD Model Space Drg to 2D Model Space Drg
    By garycrampton in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd Dec 2005, 10:17 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts