Scaffolding design. Scaffolder (and complete CAD Newbie) here looking to learn CAD

Gwilym

Hi everyone,

I'm a scaffy looking to learn how to design scaffolds in CAD. Im completely new to CAD and have no idea where to start. I have a killer mac with 2 x 30' cinema displays so i have that bit sorted, but I'm not sure what software I should be looking at. I like the look of Autodesk and would like to continue onto plant design once i have mastered the scaff part, so was thinking i should stick with the same software?

Anyone with any information they would like to pass on would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gwilym:)

Hi Gwilym, welcome to the forum. :)

What sort of scaffolding we talking here?

What sort of sections do you anticipate using?

High rise or .........

Bamboo?

Sorry, we see a lot of that here in Asia, I can probably answer that one for you.

Autocad is pretty PC-centric, and has been since the beginning.

Only recently have they started to design for MAC again.

There are ways to work around that bias though.

If you are doing scaffolding I should think that you would likely be able to move through 2D pretty quickly

and get into 3D modeling of systems without too much difficulty.

This based on the assumption that you would have a fair number of basic parts which would routinely be reconfigured as needed.

If you are just starting to get your feet wet with the software, I would suggest to you to start with the first link (http://www.we-r-here.com/cad/) listed on this site as the most visited.

Very good fundamental instruction starting from zero and building logically through a good set of basic skills.

Once you start to get into the swing of things, there are very good video tutorials on this site, and elsewhere online.

Wow, two 30 foot screens, I guess that pretty well rules out an AIRBOOK then! :beer:

There are a handful of scaffolding design programs out there but they are going to cost you. What is your budget?