+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,016

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What happens if you use the DWG to PDF.pc3?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    216

    Default

    If you use the Acad Std CTB file it does not know what pen assignments you have done. You will need to make your own CTB file and assign the pen thicknesses to say a colour

    You also could try Monochrome - but that will still only do 1 thickness pen type.

  3. #13
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,963

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    If you use the Acad Std CTB file it does not know what pen assignments you have done. You will need to make your own CTB file and assign the pen thicknesses to say a colour

    You also could try Monochrome - but that will still only do 1 thickness pen type.
    I use monochrome.ctb exclusively and it plots lineweights perfectly for me, even in pdf. But then, I have not monkeyed up my pen assignments.

    What I don't do is use CutePDF at all. I use AutoDesk TrueView (free) to plot my pdfs. I started using it when I discovered that AutoCad 2009 has bad issues with its own dwg to pdf.pc3. TrueView simply uses all the drawing and layout specs already set up in AutoCad. All you have to do is 'open with' and plot.

    Original OP, are you selecting "Plotting with Plotstyles" on the layout? Do not select the "Scale Lineweights" option.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  4. #14
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Grant: Thanks for your input, it makes sense. Now the question is how to make my own CTB file and assign the pen thicknesses to say a colour.

    Dana W: How do you get AutoDesk TrueView? Where is the icon 'open with'? I am selecting "Plotting with Plotstyles" and I am not selecting "Scale Lineweights".

    Thank you all for your help

  5. #15
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    202

    Default

    AutoDesk TrueView is available from the Autodesk web site. It's a good program to have for times like these.
    Sooner or later, you'll own Generals.

  6. #16
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,963

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vefer View Post
    Grant: Thanks for your input, it makes sense. Now the question is how to make my own CTB file and assign the pen thicknesses to say a colour.

    Dana W: How do you get AutoDesk TrueView? Where is the icon 'open with'? I am selecting "Plotting with Plotstyles" and I am not selecting "Scale Lineweights".

    Thank you all for your help
    I can't answer you about color/weight. I simply asign the lines a weight by layer and let the mono ctb use those. Works beautifully.

    TrueView is a free download at AutoDesk.com. Open With... Is a right click option in Windows explorer do it on a dwg file icon.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    216

    Default

    What you can do is edit the CTB file - usually I make a copy of it and change the copy because if it is in the same directory it will come up in the list as well. Dir: C:\Users\'Youname'\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCA D 2013 - English\R19.0\enu\Plotters\Plot Styles of course mine is Acad2013 but it should be similar.
    Then In Acad:
    Plot
    In 'Plot Style Table' click the CTB file you want to change
    Click the button on the right of that, that edits the file
    Goto Form View tab
    Click Color 1 (or any one)
    Change the lineweight thickness

  8. #18
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Grant: This may sound like a dumb question , but how do you make a copy of a CTB file? Can you walk me through it? I do not have any trouble editing the file, but I don't know how to copy one.
    Thanks.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Use Windows Explorer - thats why I gave you the directory

  10. #20
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,486

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    or use Save As from the Plot Style Editor.
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

Similar Threads

  1. printing Inventor/Autocad 2009 to Epson Workforce 1100 cannot print landscape mode
    By GPrae in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Feb 2012, 12:49 pm
  2. Printing to PDF AutoCAD Electrical 2009
    By Electroman7979 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2010, 09:15 pm
  3. printing to PDF - AutoCad 2009 issues
    By Coggz in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2010, 05:59 pm
  4. problem printing colour from autocad LDT 2009
    By lomandra in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2010, 06:25 am
  5. Printing OLE objects in AutoCad 2009
    By todd8275 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2008, 06:19 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts