+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Macro for Block Creation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have multiple cad files and need to create mutiple blocks with same name at same coordinates. Tried using Action macro but the macro doesnt record the block name.

    Is there any workaround? or any lisp routine I could use?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,056

    Default

    Welcome to the forum!
    Sounds like your DRAWING SHEET maybe?
    The ACTION RECORDER will always balk when it hits a dialog box.
    If you put the block you want to use on your clipboard before you run your ACTION MACRO you can use the PASTE TO ORIGINAL COORDINATES command, and in that way won't get a dialog box.

    Or if you already have the block created, sounds like you do, then just INSERT it.

    Or just visit LEE MAC's site and revel in other MORE CREATIVE and efficient options.
    Like this http://www.lee-mac.com/copytodrawing.html .
    Thanks Lee!

    Please note that using Lee's lisp, you do not even need to open the drawings into which you wish to make the additions.
    Now that's just plain SMART!
    Last edited by Dadgad; 4th Jun 2012 at 04:55 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    19,593

    Default

    Many thanks for your glowing recommendations Dadgad, that means a lot
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,056

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Mac View Post
    Many thanks for your glowing recommendations Dadgad, that means a lot
    You're entirely welcome.

    I don't MAKE the news, I just REPORT it.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    I don't MAKE the news, I just REPORT it.
    Nice

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,709

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Try this script very easy way to do

    Code:
    Open dwg1 insert myblock 0,0 1 1 0 close Y
    Open dwg2 insert myblock 0,0 1 1 0 close Y
    Open dwg3 insert myblock 0,0 1 1 0 close Y
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. automated block and attribute creation from csv file
    By vickilb in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2011, 04:06 am
  2. Block vanish after creation
    By samifox in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2011, 05:12 pm
  3. Block Creation
    By swfla08 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th May 2008, 12:30 am
  4. Dynamic Block Creation
    By Gary_W in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2007, 02:12 pm
  5. Why isn't macro creation as easy in CAD2K as it is in Excel?
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Oct 2003, 03:47 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts