Significantly compress a DWG?

gdgt

Hello,

I'm a mechanical engineer with a lot of experience working with SolidWorks, but no experience with AutoCAD. My boss has asked me to take a 44MB .DWG and compress it to under 15MB so that it can be viewed on his iPad to show to clients (using the AutoCAD WS which is limited to opening files smaller than 15MB). I spent hours doing this several weeks ago and was just barely able to get it down to the required size. However, I was never able to repeat the process and to be honest, I'm not entirely sure how I did it. Now I have to do it again for a different file and am struggling to do so.

Since the file is just going to be quickly shown to clients it does not need to have all 400 layers or any other kind of accompanying details. Hell I could merge all the layers together if that would reduce the file size and I knew how to do that. I'm not at my work computer right now, but I think by clicking options under save and removing all proxy images (or something like that) I was able to reduce the file size to around17MB. I've purged the file as well but that only removed a few KB. Can anyone help me out with a suggestion on further compressing the file?

Thank you!

Welcome to the forum. :)

Enter ISAVEPERCENT at your commandline > ENTER, reset to zero > ENTER

-PURGE (include the hyphen as it is important) at your commandline >

Command: -PURGE

Enter type of unused objects to purge

[blocks/Dimstyles/Groups/LAyers/LTypes/MAterials/MUltileaderstyles/Plotstyles/SH

apes/textSTyles/Mlinestyles/Tablestyles/Visualstyles/Regapps/Zero-length

geometry/Empty text objects/All]: R

Enter name(s) to purge :

Verify each name to be purged? [Yes/No] : N

Deleting registered application "ACAD_DSTYLE_DIMJOGGED_JOGANGLE_SYMBOL".

Deleting registered application "ACAD_DSTYLE_DIMTEXT_FILL".

Deleting registered application "ACAD_EXEMPT_FROM_CAD_STANDARDS".

Deleting registered application "ACAD_MLEADERVER".

4 registered applications deleted.