+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    66

    Default Draw a Silicone with a Irregular Geometric Shape in CAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I should design a Silicone model for a Breast Cancer Survivor. My problem is the IrregularGeometric Shape of silicone. I tried "Sphere"/ "Loft" commands,but I didn't get my desired outcome! I also drew the 2D base by "Spline"; however,"Extrusion" was not a good option to make it look like a 3D silicone! Any ideas!
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Did you use a series of profiles when you tried the LOFT command?

    Have you considered the possibility of using a mesh object?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I just tried to use "Mesh Sphere" and Modify it then, and also Loft (see attachment). However, I didn't get the desired outcome.
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Yes, I could see where it would be a bit of a challenge to derive the exact shape. Having worked as a surgical technician at one time I am familiar with the implants.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I see! It becomes even more challenging for an actual size. Please keep me posted if you come out with any new idea. Thanx!

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    I am not at my CAD computer so there will be no experimenting today unfortunately.

    Is this a class project? The wording of your first sentence in your starting post seems a bit strange.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Breast implants can be round or anatomical (i.e.-teardrop, contoured or shaped). Why did you pick the one shown in your first post?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    66

    Default

    "Triangle Breast Form" is what I'mlooking for at this time. It looks more like the new image enclosed
    Attached Images

  9. #9
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Loft will be key.
    But I think I would use something like Autodesk Inventor or Alias rather than Autodesk AutoCAD.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How about Solidworks?

Similar Threads

  1. Pattern on Irregular Shape
    By NeedHelp in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28th Nov 2011, 02:59 pm
  2. Create solid from irregular shape
    By _Polar_ in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2011, 03:23 pm
  3. PressPull/Extruding Irregular Shape Problems!
    By dulerong in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2011, 09:04 am
  4. convert close geometric shape into polyline
    By marti in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2007, 04:31 pm
  5. Plotting problem-Not trimming out irregular shape viewports
    By GEEKBOY69 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2006, 10:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts