+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Sam Pawar's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    HP 8560W
    Monitor:
    TWIN DELL U2711 27"
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    23

    Drawing One master reference file to control multiple reference layer settings

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I'm working on a large infrastructure project with numerous of drawings. On quite a few layout drawings I need to have the same base set of references, however I need to change the layer settings (colors, lineweight etc.). This cannot be done in the base reference itself as it is used by others. As the layouts I work with includes other references as well, it is time consuming to filter and change layer settings on each base reference.

    My concept is to have a master reference file to manage all layer settings and add/remove base references. When the master reference is referenced into the layout, all layer settings on the base references should stay as set in the master reference. In this way I can easily control all base references with one file and make sure all changes will be the same for all the layouts.

    Is this possible?? Or is there some way to work this out??


    New illustration of concept:



    Edit: Added new illustration and slightly modified text to hopefully make it more understandable.


    Kind Regards,
    Sam Pawar
    Last edited by Sam Pawar; 9th Jul 2012 at 02:42 pm.

  2. #2
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Seems to me it would depend on what you mean by layer settings. If you mean colors, linetypes, etc., that you can change for an xref, this scheme should work.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Sam Pawar's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    HP 8560W
    Monitor:
    TWIN DELL U2711 27"
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Yes, I mean colors, linetypes, linewidth etc.

    I tried to change these in the controller drawing, but when i referenced the controller drawing into the layout the base references showed with their original colors.

    Any suggestions?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    What does VISRETAIN = ?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Sam Pawar's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    HP 8560W
    Monitor:
    TWIN DELL U2711 27"
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    VISRETAIN = 1.

    I think maybe I'm not explaining the problem correctly. I have no issues modifying the controller drawing, however when I reference the controller drawing into the layout I want the layer settings to stay exactly the same as it is in the controller drawing for the xrefs that the controller contains.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Visretain should be set to "0" in the layout files so that any changes in the contoller drawing will be reflected in those files.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Sam Pawar's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    HP 8560W
    Monitor:
    TWIN DELL U2711 27"
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Ok, I tried that and that didn't help.

    I'll give you an example that might help explain my problem:

    The color on the layers vary on each base references. In the controller drawing I would like to change the color of all layers in the base references into blue. So when i reference the controller drawing into the my layout file, all base references layers that follows my controller drawing should be blue and not the original color in the base reference.

    Sam

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Okay, in your diagram are the XREFs at the top the same files that are being referenced by the controller drawing?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Sam Pawar's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    HP 8560W
    Monitor:
    TWIN DELL U2711 27"
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    No, those are other XREF needed in the layouts to make each layout different. The base references is to make the same foundation for all the layouts.

    Hmmm... maybe the diagram is more confusing than helping. I feel like I'm having trouble explaining this problem...

  10. #10
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I understand. I just have not had a chance to actually try anything.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. change layer of block-attribute reference
    By iTijn in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 26th May 2014, 10:03 am
  2. Editing Reference Layer
    By Ricardo Diez in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2011, 09:15 am
  3. External Reference File Has Changed... or so it says
    By SuperCAD in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2010, 07:39 pm
  4. VBA Changing a layer name within a block reference?
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2009, 01:32 pm
  5. reference from one file to another
    By gib65 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Sep 2006, 12:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts