+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    HP 2240 SFF Workstation
    Motherboard:
    HP
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E3-1225 v5 @ 3.30ghz, 3.30ghz
    RAM:
    18 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia NVS 510
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    4 total (2 - 27 in monitors below, 2- 22 in monitors on top)
    Discipline
    Construction
    ammobake's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafting & Architecutural Design (gov/military)
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    201

    Default Problem with 3D dimensions for isometric drawings

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm working on a project where I've modeled obstacles for an obstacle course on a military installation and I'm having some issues with isometric views and adding dimensions at various UCS orientations.

    Basically, each obstacle has a plan view and an isometric to depict height of some of the material above ground level and below.

    I've tried re-orienting the UCS to accomodate the dimensions and it works to a degree but there has to be an easier way.

    When I select the points for my dimension, I'm prompted...

    Specify dimension line location or
    [Mtext/Text/Angle/Horizontal/Vertical/Rotated]:

    I need the dimensions to be vertical in the isometric. I've been messing with it and I was able to eventually get it right but is there an easier way?

    Whenever the dimension is drawn in model space the dimenion ends up far from where it needs to be. I always have to relocate it and re-select where I want the dimension lines to be.

    Also, is there some kind of add-on that might make 3D dimensions easier?

    Also, I have a thin solid representing the ground level so that everything below ground level results in a hidden line (due to the visual style I'm using) in the isometric drawings.

    This works out great but any dimensions below ground level end up hidden. I don't think there is any way around this though with the style I have in use.

    I've gone with simple callouts specifying overall material heights to avoid these issues in the meantime.

    As always, any help is appreciated.

    -ChriS

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    See the attached, I think it makes it very simple to understand and practice.
    Attached Files
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ammobake View Post
    .... there has to be an easier way.

    ... but is there an easier way?

    Also, is there some kind of add-on that might make 3D dimensions easier?

    ... any help is appreciated.

    -ChriS
    Not an add-in, but another Autodesk product. Autodesk Inventor does this directly.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    See the attached, I think it makes it very simple to understand and practice.
    Very well conceived and explained rkent.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    HP 2240 SFF Workstation
    Motherboard:
    HP
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E3-1225 v5 @ 3.30ghz, 3.30ghz
    RAM:
    18 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia NVS 510
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    4 total (2 - 27 in monitors below, 2- 22 in monitors on top)
    Discipline
    Construction
    ammobake's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafting & Architecutural Design (gov/military)
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    201

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks rkent!

    That's a handy reference.

    what I ended up doing for the design set was I did side views and threw in dimensions in paper space. I kept the isometric view of each obstacle as a reference on how to construct each unit. I then showed a plan view of each obstacle to depict the on-center dimensions and lengths of the material.

    To clarify what was needed for each one, I added a list of materials that shows lengths of all the different material and quantities.

    -ChriS

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensions on a isometric circle
    By 30144683 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2011, 04:51 am
  2. Adding Dimensions to an Isometric View
    By gbradley in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2010, 07:16 pm
  3. Dimensions in isometric
    By DODGE in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2009, 10:25 pm
  4. Dimensions for Isometric Objects
    By happyunited in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2008, 12:53 am
  5. ...draw isometric dimensions?
    By Skins in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd May 2007, 11:15 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts