+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default How can I determine the display size of dimensions?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I hope it is ok to tail onto this thread. I saw it was "sticky'd" on the beginners page so thought it might help someone else too. I have just joined here and am a beginner but this is the second explanation of associative dimensional annotations I have been through. The other is from a Brian Benton training video for AC 2012 I bought and neither of these is helping me understand how to display the annotations properly. Perhaps this may just be a display or view setting but I beleive I have checked them all at least 3 times =).

    Even in the video he explains all the things explained here but does not explain exactly how to make the dims and ext lines notate and display properly, in model or paper view (view port). I have tried many ways to create a view port in paper space and annotation several dimensions. I constantly get different text sizes and ext line scaled differently within the same view port.....even after I have locked it.

    I am also confused about notating dims in the model space within the paper space view port vs on the paper space outside of the model space view port? Perhaps this has something to do with my issues?

    Again it may be because I don't understand another function/setting impacting this well enough yet?? I have tried/used every variable in the Dimension Style Manager on the Lines, Text and Fit tabs to no avail.

    Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.
    There are two ways (places really) to do dimensions, either in modelspace or paperspace.
    I don't use ANNOTATIVE dims, will stay on thread topic with ASSOCIATIVE dimensions.
    You will need to set up a single dimstyle which displays in the units of measure, and with the precision which you usually require.
    There are lots of choices to be made in setting up a new dimstyle, you would typically start from the STANDARD dimstyle,
    enter NEW, give it a new name and change or adjust whatever needs changing.
    Dimension styles, once created are typically included in one's default template, in the interests of ease of use and conformity.
    For now let's just assume we will use the STANDARD, or an existing dimstyle.

    If you use associative dimensions then you really will be good to go.
    Turn on your ENDPOINT, QUADRANT and perhaps your MIDPOINT OSNAPS.
    Don't turn on NODES, as this will likely screw up the associativity of your dimensions.
    I prefer doing dimensions and annotation in paperspace. Your viewports should be set up as you want them, scaled and LOCKED before you start doing your dimensions..
    Start doing your dimensions, following standard dimensioning practices.
    Be sure that the start and end points of each dimension are SNAPPED to a detail or feature of your drawing, as you are ATTACHING them to the geometry which the lines represent.
    This is why I said to turn off your NODES, which are the defining points of your dimension lines.
    You do not want your ASSOCIATIVE dimensions associated to other dimensions, but rather to the geometry which they define.
    When done in this way you needn't concern yourself with the various scales which might be represented and used in your viewports.
    The dimensions are all 1:1 based on the geometry to which they are ASSOCIATED (or attached).
    If later the length of a beam, or the location of some holes are changed in modelspace the ASSOCIATED dimensions will reflect those changes in real time in your paperspace layout.
    If there are NEW elements, holes or details added you will need to make sure you document those, in the same way as previously described.

    Dimensioning in modelspace would be done in the same way, just in a different location.
    All of these ASSOCIATIVE dimensions and dimension text will display correctly in your paperspace, as well as in your modelspace,
    because their display is driven by the text height and other settings which are spelled out in the definition of the DIMSTYLE.
    BE SURE TO CHECK in your OPTIONS > USER PREFERENCES, that the box MAKE NEW DIMENSIONS ASSOCIATIVE is checked.

    There are two schools of thought on where text, dimensions & drawing sheets should be placed.
    The company for which, or with whom you are working likely has standards to which you may be expected to comply.
    If not, or you are working for yourself, or are the one making such calls, then do it how you feel it works best for the
    kind of work which you usually do. Try it both ways first, make an informed decision.

    ANNOTATIVE dimensions are a whole different animal, and I defer to other forum members better informed than I, on their best use, set up and practices.
    Last edited by Dadgad; 30th Jul 2012 at 06:38 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Yep, something you absolutely HAVE to make certain of in your DimStyle: Every setting needs to be set as if your dimensions will be drawn for 1:1 scale. Only your OverAll scale might differ, though even this I'd advise against (either let to "Scale to Viewport Scale, or have it set as Annotative).

    This includes the text style you use, though here's another extra point: The text style itself needs to be non-annotative (even if your dimstyle is annotative) and have a default height= 0.0. The last is VERY important, otherwise the Dim cannot scale its text to the height it wants to display.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    7-25-2012 10-41-39 AM.jpg7-25-2012 10-39-50 AM.jpgOn my Text tab it will not allow me to enter a value of 0.0 for text height? Here is what I have currently7-25-2012 10-42-37 AM.jpg

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    I made these posts a new thread "How can I determine the display size of dimensions?" in the AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface forum, since they have nothing to do with Associative Dimensions.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    No, you're misunderstanding. You need to set the Text Style's default height=0, not the DimStyle's text height.


    E.g. on the DimStyle dialog's text tab, click the [...] button next to the text style.
    capture_07252012_165719.png

    That should open the Text Style dialog. In this the Height needs to be = 0.
    capture_07252012_165739.png

    Then you might have to change the DimStyle's text to and from a different font, just to have the dialog update properly. Then the height should be editable in there.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ahh...that makes a difference.....working in wrong place...let me give it a whirl..thnx

Similar Threads

  1. Point display size
    By rayhawk in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2010, 06:29 pm
  2. Determine what associative dimensions are attached to.
    By manddarran in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2010, 09:43 pm
  3. Linetype drop down display size
    By ChrisCMU in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2010, 07:43 pm
  4. How do I display actual print size
    By jeffd24 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 09:43 pm
  5. Display Object Dimensions
    By steve8679 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2008, 03:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts