+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Lateralg's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Home Premium
    Computer:
    Dell XPS 17
    Motherboard:
    ?
    CPU:
    Quad core i7 2-nd generation
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    ? 1+1 GB
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    599 GB
    Monitor:
    22"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Lateralg's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired Auto Engineer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Using and improving RepRap 3D printing.
    Using
    Inventor 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Live in Howell, MI in summer, Green Valley, AZ in winter
    Posts
    6

    Default OSNAP settings in Inventor

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Where are osnap settings, or their equivalent, in Inventor 2013?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lateralg View Post
    Where are osnap settings, or their equivalent, in Inventor 2013?
    Welcome to the forum.

    I don't really know how to use it, but in INVENTOR FUSION there is an ICON in the lower right corner, looks like a series of linked red lines with SNAP POINTS.
    Could it be that the snaps in INVENTOR are sort of autonomous, and always on by default?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,039

    Default

    I moved your post to a new thread in Autodesk Inventor forum.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,423

    Default

    You should never need to fool with them.
    To get to them, while in sketch right click and select Constraint Options (or something like that - I'm not at my Inventor computer right now and as I stated in 10 years of using Inventor I never had to fool with them.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Lateralg's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Home Premium
    Computer:
    Dell XPS 17
    Motherboard:
    ?
    CPU:
    Quad core i7 2-nd generation
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    ? 1+1 GB
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    599 GB
    Monitor:
    22"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Lateralg's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired Auto Engineer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Using and improving RepRap 3D printing.
    Using
    Inventor 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Live in Howell, MI in summer, Green Valley, AZ in winter
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    You should never need to fool with them.
    To get to them, while in sketch right click and select Constraint Options (or something like that - I'm not at my Inventor computer right now and as I stated in 10 years of using Inventor I never had to fool with them.
    That's good news and bad news. Good that there's apparently a way to do what I need to; bad that I have no idea how to do it.

    When I right click > select snap points > I see only Midpoint, Center, Intersection as options.

    I need endpoint, but don't see a way to get it. Maybe there's a way to expand the list of snap point options, but hours of searching haven't been fruitful.

    Actually, I'd like the see the large menu available in AutoCAD.

    How do you snap to points in Inventor?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Bishop's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1600
    CPU:
    Xeon E3-1280
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 600 1024 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 250GB - ST3250312AS
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital 1024 GB - External
    Monitor:
    2x Dell P2211H @ 1920 x 1080
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Bishop's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Design, Manufacturing
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    Inventor 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Snapping to points is pretty much automatic. Like JD said, you shouldn't have to mess with it. Whether you're in the drawing environment or the sketch environment, snap to endpoint should be a default behavior of Inventor. Make sure you're not pressing CTRL when you click, and move your mouse around a little bit to make sure you get the green dot.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lateralg View Post
    When I right click > select snap points > I see only Midpoint, Center, Intersection as options.
    Then you are in a command if that is the screen you see. You need to be in the sketch environment but not in a command to get the Constraint Options dialog box that I was referring to.

    You will use geometry constraints - not osnaps. Geometry constraints are persistent tangent remains tangent as you move geometry. The constraint you are looking for, coincident between two points remain coincident as you move geometry - more powerful than endpoint osnap.

    The "large menu available in AutoCAD" should be top center of your screen labled Constraints.

    What version of Inventor are you using? Are you really using Inventor or are you using that "product" called Inventor Fusion that should have never seen the light of day? If you are in the line command for example and you move close to another line endpoint you should see a green dot indicating a constraint will be applied.

    Start here http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf
    and then go through the Help>Learing Tools>Tutorials
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    Inventor 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When in sketch mode right click and click on autoproject that should get that green dot he is talking about and will snap to enpoints. Did this answer you question?

Similar Threads

  1. Osnap bug?
    By specialforces27 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2008, 07:04 pm
  2. 3D settings vs. classic settings
    By kmapro in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2007, 03:14 pm
  3. Temporarily override OSNAP, ORTHO, and other drafting settings
    By AutoCAD Tips Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2007, 12:20 am
  4. Keep OSnap settings between drawings
    By Panther in the Den in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2006, 04:40 pm
  5. Restoring osnap settings
    By xoom2 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2004, 08:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts