+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Is there a "master block" command that can auto update other blocks in dwgs?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm looking for an option to keep master or source blocks together in one file that when changes need to be made I can just update them once and those changes reflect immediately in drawings containing said blocks. I had thought that the wblock command was used for this but it seems to just be another way to insert blocks similar to the design center.

    Appreciate any help with this!

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    WBLOCK is used to WRITE blocks from your drawing to a file of its own.

    I cannot think of a way to do what you want although you could try XREFing your blocks rather than inserting them if you do it often. I use Design Center or the command line INSERT command if I need to update blocks within a drawing.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Look into the use of xrefs.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,455

    Default

    Also see the second tip on this page if external references will not work for you.
    http://cadpanacea.com/node/307
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestions guys, will definitely be trying these out over the next few days!

  6. #6
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    This is EXACTLY what Xrefs are meant to do.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    763

    Default

    Sharkbite, here's an alternative to the xref approach and if you have multiple blocks that need updating you might find it useful.

    First, you would need a drawing that contains all of the blocks that are updated - you might say the "Master Block Drawing"

    Now, here's the trick, invert the process - that is rather than inserting the updated block drawing into the working drawing go the other way insert the working drawing into the "Master Block Drawing"

    This will result in all blocks in the working drawing updating to what is in the MBD.

    Now that the inserted working drawing is updated WBLOCK it out to its original name overwriting it. Of course much caution is needed when doing this - it may be better to WBLOCK out to a revised file name to avoid any errors.

    Now purge the inserted working drawing from your MBD.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    If you need to do so many steps, why not just insert the MBD into the files and eliminate the risk of errors. Nothing immediate about that at all. XREFs is the only way that comes to mind that will accomplish the automatic updates through multiple files.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    763

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    If you need to do so many steps, why not just insert the MBD into the files and eliminate the risk of errors. ...
    Because inserting the MBD into the drawing won't update the (multiple) blocks in the drawing, doing it backwards will. If you are updating only one block it's ok to do that because you will be prompted to redefine the existing block however if there are multiple blocks when you insert the MBD, the blocks in the MBD take on the properties of the drawing's blocks.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    All that work just to avoid using xrefs? Seems counter-productive.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Renaming attributes tags according to a "master" drawing.
    By liormic in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 1st Jun 2012, 06:20 pm
  2. drawing "by block" not "by layer"
    By DoctorDrake in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2012, 09:21 pm
  3. "echo" of the "base" command
    By Sittingbull in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2011, 02:15 pm
  4. (command "dim" "DIMLDRBLK" "" |) is not working
    By bijoyvm in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2010, 12:15 pm
  5. pdf files much larger than "parent" .dwgs
    By OldMikeNewMember in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th Sep 2010, 08:31 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts