+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010

Default 2d drawings to 3d

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

hi, am new to autocad, i wanted to know if i can convert 2d drawings to 3d ?. I work in the aluminium openings industry making doors and windows, i have all my aluminium profiles drawing in 2d.dwg and i want to convert it to a 3d model and then extrude it for a certain length so that it look like an aluminium profiles bars ? any idea how to do that, thanks....

Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability

Hello, welcome to the forum.
    You will want to use the PRESSPULL command.
    After starting the command you will need to click inside one of your profiles to select it, then PULL it in whichever direction you want to lengthen it.
    There is a good video on this site in the BASIC 3D TUTORIALS section about the EXTRUDE & PRESSPULL commands.
    It only shows entry level uses of the EXTRUDE command, but is a good starting point for BASIC modeling.
    PRESSPULL is particularly well suited to easily creating orthogonal holes and voids in 3D solids.
    This one video will really be an eye opener for you, and totally appropriate for working with extrusions as you do.
    You should also work your way through the rest of the 3D Basic video tutorials on this site, to help you hit the ground running.
    As you start to play with 3D, I would suggest that you use an ISOMETRIC perspective, especially when creating and modifying
    3D entities, which you can access on the VIEWS toolbar or panel on the ribbon.
    Last edited by Dadgad; 12th Aug 2012 at 01:42 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800