2d drawings to 3d

simplemind

hi, am new to autocad, i wanted to know if i can convert 2d drawings to 3d ?. I work in the aluminium openings industry making doors and windows, i have all my aluminium profiles drawing in 2d.dwg and i want to convert it to a 3d model and then extrude it for a certain length so that it look like an aluminium profiles bars ? any idea how to do that, thanks....

Hello, welcome to the forum. :)

You will want to use the PRESSPULL command.

After starting the command you will need to click inside one of your profiles to select it, then PULL it in whichever direction you want to lengthen it.

There is a good video on this site in the BASIC 3D TUTORIALS section about the EXTRUDE & PRESSPULL commands.

It only shows entry level uses of the EXTRUDE command, but is a good starting point for BASIC modeling.

PRESSPULL is particularly well suited to easily creating orthogonal holes and voids in 3D solids.

This one video will really be an eye opener for you, and totally appropriate for working with extrusions as you do.

You should also work your way through the rest of the 3D Basic video tutorials on this site, to help you hit the ground running.

As you start to play with 3D, I would suggest that you use an ISOMETRIC perspective, especially when creating and modifying

3D entities, which you can access on the VIEWS toolbar or panel on the ribbon.

Edited by Dadgad

Dadgad, I wouldn't say PressPull (PP) is vastly superior to Extrude (EX) because I see them as two different tools with a little overlap. I noticed that the video showed only one very basic use of EX and didn't cover the many options available to use that PP doesn't offer. EX works on 14 different objects (open or closed), PP on 4. EX has options for Path, Direction, Taper Angle, as well as the option to make closed objects a solid or a surface. The path can be a line, an arc, or any one of 12 particular objects.