How to rotate a drawing from a world grid to my local site grid?

richiegriffo

Hi guys,

I'm a site based engineer and will very often recieve CAD drawing from the architect and structural engineer that are set to the world coordinated grid, so when i pick points from the drawing using the ID command i recieve a long and meaningless coordinate which is useless to me when setting out. does anybody know how i can rotate my drawing so that firstly its aligned with my grid and secondly give it the same coordinates as my site based local coordinated grid?

Many thanks

Richard:)

What I'll usually do in that situation is xref the client's drawing into mine. The UCS doesn't change.

sorry to be a pain but how do you do this? im a beginer and have literally only just started using CAD:)

use command XATTACH and select their drawing. then you can move it or rotate it whichever way you like without changing the original. it's the AutoCAD equivalent of using tracing paper!

What's meaningless!!

i recieve a long and meaningless coordinate

Perhaps you should of listen on the training course you attended to become a "Site Engineer" ;)

What's meaningless!!

Perhaps you should of listen on the training course you attended to become a "Site Engineer" ;)

thanks kev thats really helpful:glare:

i havent been on a training course for CAD and have literally just started using it

i havent been on a training course for CAD and have literally just started using it

I can sympathize. Not one day of formal training, but I muddle through.

A handy command when xrefing is Align. If you have two or more points that correspond, you can pick one from the xref, one from your drawing, then a second from the xref, then a second from yours. If you feel it's necessary, you can give it one more set of points. Finally, press Y if you want AutoCAD to do the scaling too. It will line up the xref with your drawing, so you can get on with your life.

@ richiegriffo