+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    mikeklon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows Vista 64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default Copy and paste solid object to excel

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I am attempting to copy and paste a part of a drawing from AutoCAD 2011 into ms, Excel or Word. I am able to copy within a vport so my whole screen is not copied. My problem is only 2D objects show up when I paste. I tried different visual styles and colors but still cant get my solid objects to appear. Is there an options setting I am missing? Please Help.
    Mike

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Do you want just a static picture - or do you want to be able to rotate, zoom, pan, turn layers on/off in Excel or Word?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    mikeklon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows Vista 64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Just a static picture of the model. The handles you get with an image on a Microsoft program are sufficient to resize the image. No need to rotate.

  4. #4
    Super Member SuperCAD's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SuperCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Professional 64bit
    Computer:
    Some POS given to my by corporate...
    RAM:
    16G :-(
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA 2000
    Primary Storage:
    500G
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SuperCAD's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Drawings for a steel manufacturing company.
    Using
    Solidworks 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    760

    Default

    You can use the "PublishToWeb JPG" plotter driver and then insert the image into Excel. I've used this before when including images in our CAD standards manual and it worked pretty good.

    Here is a more detailed description of how to get an image file from AutoCAD:

    http://www.ellenfinkelstein.com/acad...and-png-files/
    Certified SolidWorks Professional

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Try wmfout to get vectors in Excel
    Untitled.jpg

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    mikeklon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows Vista 64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Command: JPGOUT did what I was looking for. Thanks

  7. #7
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    My two cents would go for WMF format since this allow better control over scale of the image. One addition, if decide to try this command don't forget about WMFBKGND system variable which prevent export of the background color.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    mikeklon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows Vista 64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Using WMFOUT, I was unable to get a realistic image. Only, 3D wireframe. When using JPGOUT, it provides me with a realistic visual style. Although, the image has poor resolution. Is it possible to output an image with the same quality resolution you get as when you exprort a PDF file? Or, Is there a way to edit the PDF export. Just the text on the PDF not the image.

Similar Threads

  1. how do i use point with copy/paste from a excel file
    By psyfr3ak in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2010, 08:36 pm
  2. Cannot copy/paste
    By StevenNoppe in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2009, 02:44 pm
  3. Copy and Paste
    By darrellx in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2008, 01:04 pm
  4. OLE Object copy and paste
    By viclopez in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2007, 05:04 pm
  5. MS Excel copy and paste problem.
    By firecad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2006, 10:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts